Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
(http://www.americanancestors.org/index.aspx) - Site of the New England Historic Genealogical Society providing links to many databases and collections for genealogical research.
Brigham Young Family History Library
Access to hundreds of databases, many are open access.
(http://www.cyndislist.com) - A categorized & cross-referenced index of thousands of genealogical resources on the Internet.
DNA testing kits: What are the privacy risks?
Commercial DNA testing kits are becoming increasingly popular, but what are the privacy risks involved? This article explores who can access your DNA information and the potential unintended consequences. .
(https://www.familysearch.org/en/) - FamilySearch is the largest genealogy organization in the world. This site provides free access to extensive resources and records gathered and preserved by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints.
Family Tree Magazine Free Forms
(http://www.familytreemagazine.com/freeforms) - Provides free downloadable forms that can help access and organize family history information.
Find a Grave
(http://www.findagrave.com) - Primarily a grave registration site, you may search for the graves of ancestors, if their grave has been registered with the site. Graves of thousands famous people can be searched by name, location, date, claim to fame, and so on. This information includes a biography. Member ship is free.
Free Databases on Ancestry.com
(http://ancestryinsider.blogspot.com/2011/02/free-databases-on-ancestrycom.html) - A list of databases you can access free, withough a subscription, from Ancestry.com. Some may require a free registration and some content might not be included.
Obituary Daily Times
(http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~obituary) - The Obituary Daily Times is a daily index of published obituaries. It is distributed FREELY, often twice a day by email, and usually has over 2500 entries a day.
(http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com) - Free site funded by Ancestry.com, providing guidance on researching faily history, as well as resources and tools.
Treasure Maps Genealogy
(http://amberskyline.com/treasuremaps) - Free genealogy and family tree search tips, how to articles and on-line genealogy tutorials
Ulster Ancestry - Free Genealogy Pages
(http://www.ulsterancestry.com) - Genealogy, Ancestry and Family History Research in Northern Ireland. This site offers paid genealogical search services but also has many links to free sites for those interested in their Irish ancestry.
The USGenWeb Project
(http://usgenweb.org) - The USGenWeb Project is a group of volunteers working together to provide free genealogy websites for genealogical research in every county and every state of the United States. Organization is by county and state, providing links to all the state genealogy websites which, in turn, provide gateways to the counties.
WorldCat Focus on Genealogy
(http://www.oclc.org/go/en/worldcat-genealogy.html) - WorldCat is a key website for genealogists and can be used to find historic newspapers, church histories, wills, manuscripts, maps, etc. This site will tell you how to use WorldCat for genealogical researcfh.
Associations and Organizations
Douglas County Historical Society
(http://douglascohistory.com/) - The Douglas County Historical Society is located at Historic Fort Omaha, which is now the campus of Metropolitan Community College, at 30th and Fort Streets. Its mission is collect, preserve and present to the public the history of Douglas County, Nebraska.
Greater Omaha Genealogical Society
(http://gogsmembers.wordpress.com) -Greater Omaha Genealogical Society is a non-profit organization whose purpose is (1) to unite those persons interested in the pursuit and study of genealogy and family history; (2) to encourage the preservation of public and private records; and (3) to promote programs of education which support the growth and development of these fields. Offers classes and research assistance.
Genealogical Societies in Nebraska
(https://history.nebraska.gov/sites/history.nebraska.gov/files/doc/5.%20Genealogical%20Societies%20in%20Nebraska_0.pdf) - List of Nebraska genealogical societies from theHistoryNebraska.gov. Some information may not be current.
History Nebraska\Nebraska State Histoical Society
(https://history.nebraska.gov/) - History Nebraska was founded in 1878 as the Nebraska State Historical Society. The Nebraska State Historical Society maintains a large collection of library, archival, and photographic materials that may be used in compiling family histories.. The Collections section of the website.
National Archives and Records Administration
(http://www.archives.gov) - The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper, including the records of ordinary people. These records are available to the public by request or by visiting its facility. Information about these records, including the scope, may be found on this site.
Nebraska State Genealogical Society
(http://nsgs.org/) - NSGS was established in 1977 to increase interest in and raise the standards of genealogical research through educational programs, workshops, and the publication of genealogical data.