It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MS in Business Analytics: Streaming Videos
Click on tabs below for resources on this program.
The following library databases can be accessed from the Databases page.
Films on Demand - Provides streaming films from sources such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences and Cambridge Educational. Kanopy - Provides streaming videos on a variety of subjects; includes titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. Alexander Street Videos - Multidisciplinary collection contains thousands of videos.
Films on Demand (32 min)
What do mathematicians mean when they say that an event has a 50 percent probability of occurring? How does the study of statistics apply algebraic principles to real-world events and conditions in a meaningful way? Why are data analysis and probability so closely related, and what are the practical benefits of studying them together? This video answers these questions and addresses fundamental concepts such as the law of large numbers and the notion of regression analysis.
Films on Demand (30:33 min)
In 2008 many American banks began to fail, the stock market plunged, and the country went into a recession, all following default by record numbers of homeowners on their mortgages. Why did these loans suddenly become so difficult to repay? In this program data analysis is used to determine what made subprime mortgages capable of wreaking havoc on the economy.
Films on Demand, segment from "Peter Jennings Reporting-No Place to Hide" (2:40 min)
Information about individuals is collected, mined, and then sold to other entities. Data analysts make conclusions about individuals. This information is helpful to many companies.
Films on Demand (18:36 min)
Viewers learn how to sample, present, and analyze data; generate histograms, frequency tables, stem and leaf plots; determine the interquartile range; and more. The video also defines random and nonrandom samples, dot and box plots, outliers, and other essential terms
Films on Demand (45:33 min)
A dream may be the most difficult human experience to quantify—but dreaming is an excellent topic for building qualitative research skills. This program illustrates experiments, designed and conducted by students, that revolve around sleep and dreams.
Films on Demand, Segment from "Bioinformatics, Genomics, and Proteomics: Getting the Big Picture" (5:10 min)
The human genome has 3.5 billion base pairs of DNA. Bioinformatics is the use of techniques including applied mathematics, statistics, chemistry, and biochemistry to solve biological problems on the molecular level.