LibGuides: Artificial Intelligence: Best Practices

Best Practices

This section contains resources discussing the best practices for using AI. These sources include information about how to use AI effectively, responsibly, and securely. Sources may discuss AI usage generally, or they may be more specific to certain applicable areas.

The resources on the right are arranged by type: eBooks, journal articles, videos, and websites.

Quick Links

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
An online research management platform including a bibliography composer and note-taking features.
What is it?
NoodleTools is a resource that allows students to evaluate resources, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. it generates accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian references with options to annotate and archive lists of documents. It offers a visual 'tabletop' to manipulate, tag and pile notecards, then connect them in outlines to prepare for writing.
Why use it?
Use this resource if you are looking for an all-in-one resource to assist with note-taking, citations, and pre-writing projects.

Writing Center

Best Practices

AI based robot safe learning and control by Zhou, Z., et al.
ISBN: 9811555036
Publication Date: 2020
Directory of Open Access Books
The AI marketing canvas: A five-stage road map to implementing artificial intelligence in marketing by Venkatesan, R., & Lecinski, J.
ISBN: 9781503628045
Publication Date: 2021
ProQuest Ebook Central
Artificial intelligence safety and security by Yampolskiy, R. V.
ISBN: 9780815369820
Publication Date: 2019
books24x7
Building responsible AI algorithms: A framework for transparency, fairness, safety, privacy, and robustness by Duke, T.
ISBN: 9781484293058
Publication Date: 2023
books24x7
Deep learning with Python: Learn best practices of deep learning models with PyTorch, second edition by Ketkar, N., & Moolayil, J.
ISBN: 9781484253632
Publication Date: 2021
books24x7
Hands-on AIOps: Best practices guide to implementing AIOps by Sabharwal, N., & Bhardwaj, G.
ISBN: 9781484282663
Publication Date: 2022
books24x7
Implementing AI systems: Transform your business in 6 steps by Taulli, T.
ISBN: 9781484263846
Publication Date: 2021
books24x7
Principles of responsible management education (PRME) in the age of artificial intelligence (AI): Opportunities, threats, and the way forward by Stachowicz-Stanusch, A.
ISBN: 9781648025433
Publication Date: 2021
Ebooks in EBSCOhost
Responsible AI in Africa: Challenges and opportunities by Eke, D. O., Wakunuma, K., & Akintoye, S.
ISBN: 9783031082153
Publication Date: 2023
ProQuest Ebook Central
Trusted artificial intelligence in manufacturing; Trusted artificial intelligence in manufacturing by Soldatos, J., & Kyriazis, D.
ISBN: 9781680838770
Publication Date: 2021
Directory of Open Access Books

Artificial intelligence and effective governance: A review, critique and research agenda by Sharma, G. D., Yadav, A., & Chopra, R.
Sustainable Futures, (2020), Vol. 2, 100004.
Artificial intelligence and liability in medicine: Balancing safety and innovation by Maliha, G., et al.
Milbank Quarterly, (2021), 99(3), 629-647.
Artificial intelligence in health care: Accountability and safety by Habli, I., Lawton, T., & Porter, Z.
Bulletin of the World Health Organization, (2020, April), 98(4), 251-256.
Artificial intelligence in health care: The challenge of effective regulation by Johnson, S. L. J.
Journal of Legal Medicine, (2022), 42(1-2), 75-86.
Artificial intelligence security: Threats and countermeasures by Hu, Y., et al.
ACM Computing Surveys, (2021), 55(1), 1-36.
Best practices for authors of healthcare-related artificial intelligence manuscripts by Sujay, K., et al.
NPJ Digital Medicine, (2020, December), 3(1).
Best practices for implementing ChatGPT, large language models, and artificial intelligence in qualitative and survey-based research by Kantor, J.
JAAD International, (2023).
Best practices for using AI tools as an author, peer reviewer, or editor by Leung, T. I., et al.
Journal of Medical Internet Research, (2023), Vo. 25.
Building trustworthy AI solutions: A case for practical solutions for small businesses by Crockett, K., et al.
IEEE Transactions on Artificial Intelligence, (2023, August), 4(4), 778-791.
Editorial: Responsible AI in healthcare: Opportunities, challenges, and best practices by Zhang, R., et al.
Frontiers in Computer Science, (2023, August 15), Vol. 5.
Editorial: Surfacing best practices for AI software development and integration in healthcare by Sendak, M., et al.
Frontiers in Digital Health, (2023, February 21), Vol. 5.
Explainable and responsible artificial intelligence by Meske, C., et al.
Electronic Markets, (2022), Vol. 32, 2103-2106.
Key concepts, common pitfalls, and best practices in artificial intelligence and machine learning: Focus on radiomics by Koçak, B.
Diagnostic & Interventional Radiology, (2022), 28(5), 450-462.
Navigating the AI frontier: Ethical considerations and best practices in microbial genomics research by Page, A. J., Tumelty, N. M., & Sheppard, S. K.
Microbial Genomics, (2023, June 7), 9(6).
Professionally responsible artificial intelligence by Hatfield, M.
Arizona State Law Journal, (2019), 51(3), 1057-1122.
Responsible application of artificial intelligence in health care by Obasa, A. E., & Palk, A. C.
South African Journal of Science, (2023), 119(5/6), 1-3.
Toward AI governance: Identifying best practices and potential barriers and outcomes by Papagiannidis, E., et al.
Information Systems Frontiers, (2022), Vol. 25, 123-141.

Library Database Videos

Content from HPE: The AI revolution: How to make it real for your organization
ProQuest Video - 18:15
Leaders in the technology industry answer key questions including: what is the reality of AI in terms of what it can do and can’t do? What are the biggest hurdles to adoption of AI? What are the best practices to accelerate AI adoption?
The role of oversight in the age of artificial intelligence
ProQuest Video - 25:52
A panel hosted by The Washington Post discusses concerns in the age of artificial intelligence.

Internet Videos

8 questions about using AI responsibly, answered
(Harvard Business Review) Generative AI tools are poised to change the way every business operates. As your own organization begins strategizing which to use, and how, operational and ethical considerations are inevitable. This article delves into eight of them, including how your organization should prepare to introduce AI responsibly, how you can prevent harmful bias from proliferating in your systems, and how to avoid key privacy risks.
15 tips to help businesses use AI and automation responsibly and effectively
(Forbes) 15 members of Forbes Technology Council share some strategies to help businesses build and use tech tools effectively and well.
AI best practices: How to securely use tools like ChatGPT
(INFOSEC) AI is useful but can also be a huge cybersecurity and privacy risk. So it’s important to understand what artificial intelligence is and the best practices you should employ to use it safely
Ensuring safe, secure, and trustworthy AI
(Whitehouse.gov) The following is a list of commitments that companies are making to promote the safe, secure, and transparent development and use of AI technology. These voluntary commitments are consistent with existing laws and regulations, and designed to advance a generative AI legal and policy regime. Companies intend these voluntary commitments to remain in effect until regulations covering substantially the same issues come into force. Individual companies may make additional commitments beyond those included here.
Leading the AI revolution: Best practices for executive leaders
(Forbes) In the age of rapid technological advancements, artificial intelligence (AI) has emerged as a transformative force capable of reshaping industries and revolutionizing business operations. For executive leaders and their organizations, understanding the need for AI, harnessing its potential and adopting best practices are critical steps toward staying competitive in today's digital landscape.
Responsible AI practices
(Google AI) The development of AI has created new opportunities to improve the lives of people around the world, from business to healthcare to education. It has also raised new questions about the best way to build fairness, interpretability, privacy, and safety into these systems.
Responsible Artificial Intelligence Institute
(Responsible AI Institute) The Responsible AI Institute (RAI Institute) is focused on providing tools for organizations and AI practitioners to build, buy, and supply safe and trusted AI systems.
Three tips for using AI effectively and securely
(Digital Agency Network) ...we will outline three tips for securely using AI in its current state. After all, the benefits it provides are outstanding, so here’s what you can do to be on the safe side.
Working group on responsible AI
(The Global Partnership on Artificial Intelligence) The work of the Working Group on Responsible AI (RAI) is grounded in a vision of AI that is human-centred, fair, equitable, inclusive and respectful of human rights and democracy, and that aims at contributing positively to the public good.

LibGuide Curator

Michelle Arnold

Email Me

Artificial Intelligence: Best Practices

Best Practices

Quick Links

Best Practices

LibGuide Curator

Need Help? Ask a Librarian