This libguide examines the major developments in America from the founding of the early colonies through the Reconstruction Era. Primary focus is placed on those concepts that have shaped the nation such as Constitutionalism, slavery, and individualism.
An online research management platform including a bibliography composer and note-taking features.
What is it?
NoodleTools is a resource that allows students to evaluate resources, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. it generates accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian references with options to annotate and archive lists of documents. It offers a visual 'tabletop' to manipulate, tag and pile notecards, then connect them in outlines to prepare for writing. Why use it?
Use this resource if you are looking for an all-in-one resource to assist with note-taking, citations, and pre-writing projects.
Need help? Sign up for a 60-minute Zoom session with the Library Reference Team. Sessions are offered Monday through Friday 9-6 PM.
Recommended Databases
You will be prompted for your BU login when accessing the databases from off campus.
Search multiple databases simultaneously using the Search articles,eBooks, & more search box on the library homepage.
Or search a specific database from the list below:
A comprehensive collection of full text articles, cases, and news on business topics.
What is it?
ABI/INFORM Complete features 3,000+ full text journals plus dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news relating to business, management and trade. Why use it?
Use this database if you require scholarly sources when researching or writing within the fields of business and economics. Video Tutorial
An enormous database of scholarly resources, encompassing a wide range of disciplines.
What is it?
Academic Search Ultimate provides full text access to nearly 4,500 journals (3,600 peer-reviewed) from a broad range of academic disciplines. Why use it?
Use this database if you need an all-inclusive place to begin or expand on research topics. Video Tutorial
A multidisciplinary collection of streaming videos complete with transcripts.
What is it?
Alexander Street Video contains over 65,000 videos covering numerous disciplines, including art & design, health sciences, literature & language, psychology & counseling, and social sciences. Most videos are in short documentary, educational video, short film, or personal interest piece formats, and the database includes up-to-date video content on contemporary political topics. Why use it?
Use this database if you are looking for video content on any particular academic subject.
A comprehensive biographical database that includes records, full text articles, images, and narrative profiles.
What is it?
Biography Reference Bank is an in-depth database that covers over 700,000 individual biographies. It includes more than 3.5 million records, more than 600,000 related full text articles, and more than 35,000 images, as well as abstracts from thousands of periodicals. Why use it?
Use this database if you are looking for biographical information on individuals based on any combination of occupation, activity, gender, place of origin, birthday, or lifespan. Video Tutorial
A database of top-ranked biographical collections and magazines.
What is it?
Biography Reference Center is a comprehensive collection which includes more than 430,000 full text biographies and profiles. It includes those contained within Biography Today and Biography, both dating back to the first issues published. Biographies of interest can be located by keyword search or by browsing key categories. Why use it?
Use this database if you are looking for biographical information about notable historical persons.
A resource providing access to multidisciplinary digital educational videos.
What is it?
Films on Demand allows students immediate access to a multidisciplinary digital video library geared for the educational community. Students can share, save, and organize videos in custom playlists. Up-to-date citations are also available for all videos in MLA, CMS, and APA formats. Why use it?
Use this resource if you are looking for videos in a variety of academic subject areas.
What is it?
Kanopy streams more than 26,000 films selected for university students. Selected films include documentaries, indie and foreign films, classics, and blockbusters. The discovery engine encourages users to challenge themselves to watch films outside their comfort area. Kanopy also allows users to watch films any time, anywhere, on any device. Why use it?
Use this resource if you are looking for streaming videos on a variety of academic subject areas.
