Skip to main content

Library Database Information: Proquest

Click the tabs below for resources on this subject

ProQuest

ProQuest
A Bellevue University Library Guide

What is ProQuest?
ProQuest is a collection of many databases that  provide access to thousands of journals, magazines, newspapers, dissertations, and other publications.

ProQuest databases include the following, which can be searched either simultaneously or individually:

ABI/INFORM Complete (Dateline/ Global/ Trade & Industry)
Accounting & Tax
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Complete
Canadian Newsstand Complete
ProQuest Asian Business and References
ProQuest Biology Journals
ProQuest Career & Technical Information
ProQuest Computing
ProQuest Criminal Justice Periodicals
ProQuest Education Journals 

ProQuest Family Health 
ProQuest Health & Medical Complete


ProQuest Health Management
ProQuest Military Collection
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
ProQuest Psychology Journals
ProQuest Religion
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Science
ProQuest Social Science Journals

ProQuest Statistical Datasets
ProQuest Telecommunication
Wall Street Journal

How to Access ProQuest

Mouse over Find on the library homepage then click on A-Z Database List. Now click on ProQuest. If off campus, you will be prompted for your BU login. Once you are logged into one database, you are logged into all of them until you close your browser.

How to Search
When you click on ProQuest, you are searching all the above databases simultaneously.  If you prefer, you may just click on one of the specific subject related databases listed. You may also custom select which databases you choose to search simultaneously.  See Choosing Databases to Search, below, for details.

Basic Search
The Basic Search screen has a single search box on it. Some of the ProQuest databases open directly to the Basic Search while others open to the Advanced Search.  . 

  • Search  box. Enter a search term or phrase that is relevant to your topic into the box on this page.
    • ProQuest uses autocomplete so as you begin to type, a list of search term suggestions will appear; you may click on one to choose it.
    • If using a phrase of two words or more, enclose it in quotation marks, even if was an "autocomplete" suggestion.
    • ProQuest will search document citations and text to locate articles containing your search term.
    • For more help setting up an effective search, click on Search Tips, located just under the search box.
  • Search options.  Right below the search box, you have the options to limit your results to Full Text and/or Peer Reviewed and/or Scholarly Journals. Remember that while all peer reviewed journals are scholarly, not all scholarly journals are peer reviewed. For more details on this see the LibGuide, How to Find Peer Reviewed Articles.
  • Search Subject Areas. When you select ProQuest from the list of databases,  Images representing subject areas are displayed in the area below the search box on the Basic Search screen.
    • You can limit your search to a particular area by moving your cursor over any one of the images to see a list of suggested databases for that area. Click on one to select it.
    • If you do not select a particular subject area, all the ProQuest databases will be seasrched simultaneously.

Advanced Search
Some of the ProQuest databases open to the advanced search screen.  If not, click on the link to Advanced Search near the top of the page.

  • Search boxes.  This screen provides three rows of search boxes that allow you to use multiple search terms. You may add more rows if desired.
  • Fields.  The advanced search gives you the option of selecting the fields you wish to search,  such as title, author, subject, journal title, or document text. 
    • Type your search term or phrase into one of the search boxes, then use the drop down menu to the right of the term to select a field, if desired.
    • You may leave it set to "Anywhere"  if you prefer, and ProQuest will search all the fields, including the abstract, for your search terms.
    • Before you set the field to Subject, it is a good idea to check the Thesaurus, found on the right side of the page above the search boxes.  This will help you find the controlled vocabulary that is used by the various ProQuest databases.
      • When you click on Thesaurus, a window will open with a list of the thesauri that are associated with the databases you are searching.  Choose the one that applies, usually this will be ProQuest thesaurus (subjects); type in a search term to see the actual subject terms used by this database.
  • Boolean searching.  You may use the drop down menu in front of each search box to change the Boolean connector from AND (default) to OR, or NOT, in order to expand or limit your search.
    • Using AND between search terms will limit and focus your search, giving you fewer results,as both terms must be present in the fields being searched.
    • Using OR will expand your search, giving you more results, as only one of your search terms must appear.
    • Using NOT excludes a term from your results.
  • Search options.  There are several ways to limit your search listed just below the search boxes.
    • Mark the Full Text option to find only documents that provide the complete full text, rather than just the citation or abstract.
    • Mark the Scholarly Journals option to find documents that appear in academic journals. You may also mark Peer Reviewed to find articles from scholarly journals that are peer reviewed.
    • You may also select a Date Range to limit your search to articles that were published during a particular time frame.
    •  Other choices are Source Type (magazine, newspaper, trade journal, etc), Document Type (article, video clip, dissertation), or Language.  The options available will depend on the databases you are searching.
  • For more help setting up an effective search, click on Tips, located near the search boxes.
  • Search Subject Areas.  Images representing subject areas appear in the right column on the advanced search screen.  For instructions on how to use them see the Basic Search section above.

Choosing Databases to Search

  • When you click on ProQuest on the alphabetical list of databases, you are searching all of the ProQuest databases listed above simultaneously. ProQuest Central searches many of the most popular ProQuest databases simultaneously.
  • If you prefer, you may select just one database to search from this list.
  • You may see which databases you are searching and change them at any time, searching as few or as many simultaneously as you desire.
    • Look in the bar at the top of the ProQuest page to see how many databases you are searching. Click on this to view and change the number of databases being searched. Check or uncheck the databases as desired.  The databases are sorted by name but you can also resort them by subject area. 

Results List

  • After entering you search terms into either the Basic or Advanced search area, and setting whatever fields and limiters you prefer, click on Search.  A list of articles will be displayed that matches your search criteria and your search terms will be highlighted.
  • Your articles will be displayed by relevance, but may be resorted by descending or ascending date by using the drop down menu to the right of the list.
  • Click on Preview located right next to the title of the article, to quickly display the abstract. The subject terms used to index the article will also be displayed which can be helpful in modifying your search.
  • When you find an article you wish to view, click on either Full Text or Full Text-PDF, depending on which formats are available.The tabs on this page allow you to quickly toggle between full text, abstract, and the references.
  • If the articles in your results list aren't quite what you were looking for, try clicking on one of the Related searches that appears above your list. When you click on one of these related search terms, you will have to reset your options such as "full text" and "scholarly journals."
  •  Your may also use other options to the left of the results to focus or sort your results in various ways, including by specific publication, source type, document type, or subject. Click on the arrow to display the options, then click on the desired choice.  You can use the date slider to limit the dates of publication, or enter a date range.
  • You may also edit your search at any time by clicking on Modify Search right under the box containing your search terms at the top of the results page.

Printing,  Emailing, and Saving Articles

  • You may print, email, or save documents directly from your results list by marking desired items, then clicking on the Print , Email, or Save option right above the list
  • These options a re also available in the right column after you have clicked on an article.
  • Mark the options to indicate the format and content that you would like to print or email, or the location for saving.

Other Features

  •  Marked Items.   As you scroll through your results list, mark articles of interest by checking the box next to the article title. 
    • To view only  the items you marked, click on the file folder icon in the bar at the top of the page. 
    • These marked articles are saved only for the current session and will not be saved once you exit ProQuest.
  • My Research.  To save marked items for a later time, create a  free account. 
    • Click on the profile icon at the top of the page, next to the file folder icon. Then click on Sign in to My Research. In the right column, under "New to My Research," click on Create a My Research account.
    • You can also organize your saved articles into folders, create tags, and do a number of other things with them.
    • When you are signed intoMy Research, articles will be saved until you delete them and can be accessed from any computer by signing into your account.
  • Cite This.  ProQuest provides the citation for articles in all the most popular citation styles.
    • Mark one or more articles in your Results List, then click on Cite This in the light blue bar above the list.
    • This option is also available above the full text of every article as well as on the Citation/Abstract page..
    • Use the drop down menu to choose from the available citation styles, but double check the citation yourself to make sure it is correct.

Tips for using ProQuest

  • Source Icon. Each article in the results list has an icon next to it indicating its source, such as magazine, scholarly journal, newspaper, etc. Mouse over the icon to see what it represents.
  • Narrow Results. The articles in your results list are sorted by source type to the left of the results list, with  the number of documents from each type in the parentheses next ot it.  To see only the results from a particular source type, click on it. There are several other options for sorting results in this column.
  • Help.  The Help screen is available in the right had corner of every page.  Use the Table of Contents or Search  to find the information you need; both of these options are available in the left column.
     
    mm 7-16

24/7 Librarian

Chris Armstrong's picture
Chris Armstrong
Contact:
Bellevue University Freeman/Lozier Library

402-557-7313