Copyright Center

Common Ground at the Nexus of Information Literacy and Scholarly Communication presents concepts, experiments, collaborations, and strategies at the crossroads of the fields of scholarly communication and information literacy. The seventeen essays and interviews in this volume engage ideas and describe vital partnerships that enrich both information literacy and scholarly communication programs within institutions of higher education. Contributions address core scholarly communication topics such as open access, copyright, authors’ rights, the social and economic factors of publishing, and scholarly publishing through the lens of information literacy. This volume is appropriate for all university and college libraries and for library and information school collections.

---

Today, educators and students have access to a vast, rich array of online materials that can be used for instruction, but these resources often remain untapped because of confusion over copyright laws. In this slim jargon-free guide, media literacy expert Renee Hobbs presents simple principles for applying copyright law and the doctrine of fair use to 21st-century teaching and learning. Complete with a ready-to-go staff development workshop, this book explores what is permissible in the classroom; fair use of digital materials such as images, music, movies, and Internet elements found on sites such as Google and YouTube; trends in intellectual property law and copyright practices; and classroom projects using copyrighted materials. Copyright Clarity helps educators unlock Internet and digital media resources for classroom use while respecting the rights of copyright holders.

---

Here is a practical copyright handbook designed to help librarians, media specialists, technology coordinators and specialists, and teachers stay within copyright law while making copyrighted print, non-print, and Web sources available to students and others. Library educator Rebecca Butler explains fair use, public domain, documentation and licenses, permissions, violations and penalties, policies and ethics codes, citations, creation and ownership, how to register copyrights, and gives tips for staying out of trouble. She explains copyright considerations for the web, television, videos and DVDs, computer software, music, books, magazines, and journals--materials that can create a day-to-day challenge for educators and require this resource s careful guidance. Up-to-date coverage includes: *iPods and other hand-held devices (including cell phones that access the Internet); blogs; wikis; Pod-casts; RSS feeds; Nings; *Second Life and other Internet world environments; Social Networks (FaceBook, MySpace, Twitter, etc; *Moodle, Skype, and similar digital communication tools; *Social bookmarking; web syndication; video streaming; TIVO and similar systems; *deep-linking *Computer/video games/gaming; and *Open-sourcing/Creative Commons. Butler also covers how to deal with those who would have you break the law; orphan works; file sharing; distance education; digital rights management; the law: classroom exemption, handicap exemption, library exemption, other important federal exemptions in the K-12 schools, parodies, and state laws; copyright lawsuits; relationship of plagiarism to copyright; and copyright and privacy. Both a self-education tool and a practical guide, the book makes clear just what teachers and librarians can and cannot do in the classroom or library. Essential background is provided for everything from the basic concepts of copyright law to specific applications of it for various types of media. Figures and flowcharts throughout make the book easy to follow and understand. Appendices feature U.S. copyright law excerpts and resources for further information.

---

opyright law is commonly described as carrying out a balancing act between the interests of authors or owners and those of the public. While much academic work, both historical and contemporary, has been done on the authorship side of the equation, this book examines the notion of public interest, and the way that concepts of public interest and the rhetoric surrounding it have been involved in shaping the law of copyright. While many histories of copyright focus on the eighteenth century, this book's main concern is with the period after 1774. The nineteenth century was the period during which the boundaries of copyright, as we know it today, were drawn and ideas of “public interest” were integral to this process, but in different, and complex, ways. The book engages with this complexity by moving beyond debates about the appropriate duration of copyright, and considers the development of other important features of copyright law, such as the requirement of legal deposit, the principle that some works will not be subject to copyright protection on the grounds of public interest, and the law of infringement. While the focus of the book is on literary copyright, it also traces the expansion of copyright to cover new subject matters, such as music, dramatic works and lectures. The book concludes by examining the making of the 1911 Imperial Copyright Act – the statute upon which the law of copyright in Britain, and in all former British colonies, is based. The history traced in this book has considerable relevance to debates over the scope of copyright law in the present day; it emphasises the contingency and complexity of copyright law's development and current shape, as well as encouraging a critical approach to the justifications for copyright law.

---

Copyright in the world of digital information is changing at a fevered pace, even as educators and librarians digitize, upload, download, draw on databases, and incorporate materials into Web-based instruction. It's essential to stay abreast of the basics of copyright law and fair use. Kenneth D. Crews has completely revised his classic text to remap the territory with fresh, timely insights into applications of copyright law for librarians, educators, and academics. Readers will Learn basic copyright definitions and key exceptions for education and library services Find information quickly with “key points” sidebars, legislative citations, and cross-references Understand the four factors of fair use and related court interpretations Get up to speed on current interpretations of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act from a librarian-educator viewpointCopyright Law for Educators and Librarians--highly praised in previous editions--draws on cutting-edge case law in 18 discrete areas of copyright, including specialized and controversial music and sound recording issues. Information professionals will find the tools they need to take control of their rights and responsibilities as copyright owners and users in this succinct, easy-to-use guide.

---

Copyright law never sleeps, making it imperative to keep abreast of the latest developments. Declared "an exemplary text that seals the standards for such books" (Managing Information), this newly revised and updated edition by respected copyright authority Crews offers timely insights and succinct guidance for LIS students, librarians, and educators alike. Readers will learn basic copyright definitions and key exceptions for education and library services; find information quickly with "key points" sidebars, legislative citations, and cross-references; get up to speed on fresh developments, such as how the recently signed Marrakesh Treaty expands access for people with disabilities and why the latest ruling in the Georgia State University case makes developing a fair use policy so important; understand the concept of fair use, with fresh interpretations of its many gray areas that will aid decision making; learn the current state of affairs regarding mass digitization, Creative Commons, classroom use and distance education, the Digital Millennium Copyright Act, and other important topics; receive guidance on setting up on a copyright service at a library, college, or university; and find many helpful checklists for navigating copyright in various situations. This straightforward, easy-to-use guide provides the tools librarians and educators need to take control of their rights and responsibilities as copyright owners and users.

---

Within most libraries in the United States today there is an information professional who has become the 'go-to' person for grasping and grappling with copyright questions. While not an attorney, this librarian has developed an awareness and understanding of copyright law, legislation and practice as they relate to a wide variety of library activities. This practical handbook provides a broad overview of copyright librarianship.  It is written for information professionals whose area of expertise, specialization or job it is to inform and educate others about the ethical use and best practices surrounding copyrighted materials  It is written about the person with solid analytical skills and the ability to adapt and adjust in a rapidly changing environment; someone who can serve as an intermediary between information producers and consumers; someone who is knowledgeable about the law and providing access to information; someone who is well positioned within an organization to answer questions about copyright and provide reliable, accurate, and relevant answers, information, assistance, and guidance when needed.  In short: a copyright librarian. Thorough and up-to-date look at an emerging field of specialization within libraries Provides an overview of job opportunities available and how to prepare for these jobs Presents a range of useful current awareness and professional development resources and tools for the new, prospective, and working professional Addresses common misperceptions about copyright librarians

Copyright law is a critical issue for authors, librarians, publishers, and information vendors. It is also a complex area, with many shades of gray. Librarians continually need to seek answers to questions ranging from the reproduction of copyrighted works for library users, through the performance of audiovisual works, to the digitization and display of protected works on library websites. This book presents updated versions of the author's copyright columns published in Against the Grain, the leading journal in acquisitions librarianship since the late 1990s. It is the first volume in the series Charleston Insights in Library, Archival, and Information Sciences. The aim of the Charleston Insights series is to focus on important topics in library and information science, presenting the issues in a relatively jargon-free way that is accessible to all types of information professionals, including librarians, publishers, and vendors, and this goal shapes the pragmatic and accessible tone of the book. The volume is presented in question-and-answer format. The questions are real, submitted by librarians, educators, and other information professionals who have attended the author's copyright law workshops and presentations or submitted them to her by e-mail or telephone. The author has selected the questions and answers that have general applicability. She has then arranged them into logical chapters, each prefaced by a short introduction to the topic. Because it is written in an accessible and clear style, readers may want to review the entire work or they can just access particular chapters or even specific questions as they need them. The volume includes an index to facilitate reference use.

---

The figures are eye-opening: more than 1.6 billion works on 9 million websites are licensed under Creative Commons (CC). These materials constitute an extraordinarily rich repository for teaching, learning, sharing, and creative reuse. Knowing your way around CC will help you make the most of the Open Access (OA) and open educational resources (OER) movements. This book represents the first-ever print complement to the CC Certificate program, providing in-depth coverage of CC licenses, open practices, and the ethos of the Commons. Inside readers will find guidance on the layers and elements of CC licenses, with clear explanations on how they interact; reusing, revising, and remixing; how to acknowledge the underlying work in a remix; techniques for locating works in the public domain and communicating their value; supporting learners' access to a wide array of open knowledge resources in primary, secondary, and higher education; assessing institutional policies for open education, plus advice on revising these policies; ways to adapt existing openly licensed materials in order to keep your institution's knowledge base relevant and up to date; how to meet the open licensing requirements increasingly present in government and foundation grants and contracts; and hundreds of authoritative resources for additional learning. This book is published under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International license; digital versions are available for download at Creative Commons web page Certificate Resources (CC BY).

More and more, library patrons are embracing the ease with which information can be accessed digitally. In an instant, a few keywords can bring patrons exactly what they desire, such as a book or a photograph, rather than going through the much more tedious activity of browsing through shelves, searching for a call number, or, even more daunting, the process of trying to work a microfilm reel. Thus, many librarians in libraries of every size and type are currently working toward making more information available electronically. This process can be daunting, however.' Digitization and digital archiving: a practical guide for librarians' seeks to answer the following common questions: What should be stored? Where and how should it be stored? How exactly is information stored in a computer? Does it really make a difference if one uses a jpg or a tiff file? This book is a comprehensive guide to the process of digital storage and archiving. Assuming only basic computer knowledge, this guide walks the reader through everything he or she needs to know to start or maintain a digital archiving project. Any librarian interested in how digital information is stored can benefit from this guide.

---

This handbook provides library and information professionals with practical guidance to minimize the risk of copyright infringement in the era of information sharing and online collaborative working. The book considers how copyright applies to a wide range of electronic content types including APIs, e-books, blogs, wikis, RSS feeds, e-mails, streaming, podcasts, broadcasts, databases, social networking sites and GUIs. Author Paul Pedley looks at activities which are especially relevant to library and information services such as the lending of electronic content and the mass digitization of content from a library collection, and considers activities undertaken by internet users such as deep linking, filesharing, mashups, and scraping, and the copyright issues associated with those activities. The text draws upon relevant legislation as well as numerous examples of legal disputes and court decisions from the UK, Europe, and the USA. Highly practical, the book is packed throughout with tips, case summaries, sample wording, and in each section it also draws attention to useful resources. Key topics include: the background to e-copyright and the debates arising the different content types, from APIs to e-books and wikis the copyright implications of activities such as deep linking, mashups, scraping and selling digital content second-hand copyright exceptions such as those for fair dealing, library privilege, the making of a temporary copy, visual impairment, and the public interest licences for e-content such as Creative Commons, open access, and the open government licence, and microlicensing solutions the Digital Economy Act 2010 rights enforcement measures the Hargreaves Review of Intellectual Property and Growth. Readership: Library and information professionals looking for guidance on how to avoid e-copyright infringements, students of LIS, electronic publishing and computer science.

A thorough guide for understanding how to acquire rights to books, films, music and other content. The fourth edition will be completely updated and will contain a wide collection of practical, real-life FAQs build upon Dear Rich blog questions.

---

In sharply argued, fast-moving chapters, Cory Doctorow's Information Doesn't Want to Be Free takes on the state of copyright and creative success in the digital age. Can small artists still thrive in the Internet era? Can giant record labels avoid alienating their audiences? This is a book about the pitfalls and the opportunities that creative industries (and individuals) are confronting today - about how the old models have failed or found new footing, and about what might soon replace them. An essential read for anyone with a stake in the future of the arts, Information Doesn't Want to Be Free offers a vivid guide to the ways creativity and the Internet interact today, and to what might be coming next.

---

As more and more colleges and universities establish copyright offices and/or assign the responsibilities of copyright education and advisory services to specific individuals within the institution, many times librarians, there is a paucity of resources available on how to manage that responsibility. Most works on copyright discuss the law and court cases interpreting the law but few address the situational application of it and the management and coordination of copyright efforts on a campus.

---

"Classroom Cheats Turn to Computers." "Student Essays on Internet Offer Challenge to Teachers." "Faking the Grade." Headlines such as these have been blaring the alarming news of an epidemic of plagiarism and cheating in American colleges: more than 75 percent of students admit to having cheated; 68 percent admit to cutting and pasting material from the Internet without citation. Professors are reminded almost daily that many of today's college students operate under an entirely new set of assumptions about originality and ethics. Practices that even a decade ago would have been regarded almost universally as academically dishonest are now commonplace.

Is this development an indication of dramatic shifts in education and the larger culture? In a book that dismisses hand-wringing in favor of a rich account of how students actually think and act, Susan D. Blum discovers two cultures that exist, often uneasily, side by side in the classroom. Relying extensively on interviews conducted by students with students, My Word! presents the voices of today's young adults as they muse about their daily activities, their challenges, and the meanings of their college lives. Outcomes-based secondary education, the steeply rising cost of college tuition, and an economic climate in which higher education is valued for its effect on future earnings above all else.

These factors each have a role to play in explaining why students might pursue good grades by any means necessary. These incentives have arisen in the same era as easily accessible ways to cheat electronically and with almost intolerable pressures that result in many students being diagnosed as clinically depressed during their transition from childhood to adulthood. However, Blum suggests, the real problem of academic dishonesty arises primarily from a lack of communication between two distinct cultures within the university setting. On one hand, professors and administrators regard plagiarism as a serious academic crime, an ethical transgression, even a sin against an ethos of individualism and originality. Students, on the other hand, revel in sharing, in multiplicity, in accomplishment at any cost.

Although this book is unlikely to reassure readers who hope that increasing rates of plagiarism can be reversed with strongly worded warnings on the first day of class, My Word! opens a dialogue between professors and their students that may lead to true mutual comprehension and serve as the basis for an alignment between student practices and their professors' expectations.

---

A concise introduction to the basics of open access, describing what it is (and isn't) and showing that it is easy, fast, inexpensive, legal, and beneficial.

---

The doctrine of moral rights is based on the idea that authors have a special bond with their own creative work. At present, the legal status of moral rights demands clarification and assessment as never before, as the international expansion of moral rights occurs in the new environment ofdigital technology. Just as the survival of copyright law depends on its capacity to adapt effectively to the new technological environment, a new approach to moral rights is also necessary. Moral Rights: Principles Practice and New Technology is the first work to comprehensively address the roleof moral rights in an environment of digital technology, identifying the challenges confronting moral rights in a digital environment. The challenges are addressed in both practical and theoretical terms, and examples drawn from the legislation and practice of key jurisdictions around the world.Moral Rights concludes with a consideration of how the concept of moral rights can contribute to the re-shaping of copyright law in a digital context.

---

Gives an encyclopedic overview of intellectual property (IP) law, plus includes definitions of common IP terms.

---

Plainly put, plagiarism isn’t acceptable. But what’s not so simple for students to understand is what exactly plagiarism is, how it happens, and how to avoid it. That’s why Barry Gilmore’s Plagiarism: A How-Not-To Guide for Students is a must-have for student writers.
In Plagiarism: A How-Not-To Guide for Students, Barry Gilmore follows up on his teacher’s guide Plagiarism: Why It Happens · How to Prevent It. Gilmore doesn’t sugarcoat plagiarism, but he offers writers reasoned and reasonable solutions.

---

Academic librarians and university instructors worldwide are grappling with an increasing incidence of student plagiarism. Recent publications urge educators to prevent plagiarism by teaching students about the issue, and some have advocated the value of a subject-specific approach to plagiarism prevention education. There is, however, a complete lack of resources and guidance for librarians and instructors who want to adopt this approach in their teaching. This book opens with a brief overview of plagiarism today, followed by arguments in favour of a subject-based approach. The rest of the book is divided into academic subject areas and features an overview of the major issues in that subject area, followed by a high profile and engaging case within the discipline.

---

Reclaiming Fair Use begins by surveying the landscape of contemporary copyright law--and the dampening effect it can have on creativity--before laying out how the fair-use principle can be employed to avoid copyright violation. Finally, Aufderheide and Jaszi summarize their work with artists and professional groups to develop best practice documents for fair use and discuss fair use in an international context. Appendixes address common myths about fair use and provide a template for creating the reader's own best practices.

---

Copyright laws, along with other Intellectual Property Rights (IPRs), constitute the legal foundation for the "global knowledge-based economy" and copyright law now plays an increasingly important role in the creation of business fortunes, the access to and dissemination of knowledge, and human development in general. This book examines major problems in the current IPR regime, particularly the copyright regime, in the context of digitization, knowledge economy, and globalization. The book contends that the final goals of IP law and policy-making are to enhance the progress of science and economic development, and the use and even-distribution of intellectual resource at the global level. By referring to major international IP consensus, recent developments in regional IP forums and the successful experiences of various countries, YiJun Tian is able to provide specific theoretical, policy and legislative suggestions for addressing current copyright challenges. The book contends that each nation should strengthen the coordination of its IP protection and development strategies, adopt a more systematic and heterogeneous approach, and make IP theory, policy, specific legal mechanisms, marketing forces and all other available measures work collectively to deal with digital challenges and in a way that contributes to the establishment of a knowledge equilibrium international society.

---

The internet has transformed the ways in which scholars and scientists share their findings with each other and the world, creating a scholarly communication environment that is both more complex and more effective than it was just a few years earlier. "Scholarly communication" itself hasbecome an umbrella term for the increasingly complex ecosystem of publications, platforms, and tools that scholars, scientists, and researchers use to share their work with each other and with other interested readers.Scholarly Communication: What Everyone Needs to KnowRG offers an accessible overview of the current landscape, examining the state of affairs in the worlds of journal and book publishing, copyright law, emerging access models, digital archiving, university presses, metadata, and much more. Andersondiscusses many of the problems that arise due to conflicts between the various values and interests at play within these systems: values that include the public good, academic freedom, the advancement of science, and the efficient use of limited resources. The implications of these issues extend farbeyond academia.Organized in an easy-to-use question-and-answer format, this book provides a lively and helpful summary of some of the most important issues and developments in the world of scholarly communication -- a world that affects our everyday lives far more than we may realize.

Designed to be of use to all levels of educators working with students--from high school to post-graduate--this book addresses the problems and concerns facing librarians and educators involved in the process of teaching academic honesty. Many of the original authors from The Plagiarism Plague have returned with new essays along with new voices, a majority of whom represent the next generation of librarianship, the Web 2.0 professional.

---

Teaching Plagiarism Prevention to College Students: An Ethics-Based Approach provides an innovative approach to plagiarism instruction by grounding it in ethics theory. By providing an ethics foundation to plagiarism instruction, this book helps the plagiarism instructor to address both unintentional and intentional plagiarism behaviors among students. This book provides tools to address why plagiarism is an important ethical issue in an academic environment.This book introduces general principles of ethics adaptable to library instruction of plagiarism in a variety of learning settings. It guides an instructor through curriculum pedagogical design drawing on library and ethics training literatures. It provides examples of materials to support the implementation of an ethical approach to plagiarism instruction. Finally, it outlines a detailed approach to assessment in order to measure changes in student reactions, learning, and behaviors as a result of this instruction. It further provides guidance in how to communicate institutional outcomes to key decision-makers.

---

Inexpensive, consumer-friendly digital video cameras are fueling the explosion of online video sites. Video cameras are even embedded in cell phones, music players, and a variety of other consumer devices. Video can be shared online with a single click-more than 20 hours of video are being uploaded to the internet every minute. These developments are making it easier than ever to create, view, and remix digital video-and students are already doing it in their free time. So why not use digital video to engage students and bring lessons to life with sound and motion? By watching, analyzing, and creating videos, students can visualize fractals, calculate the speed of sound, demonstrate critical thinking about historic events, and much, much more.

---

Learn how to educate defensively and avoid accidents In this updated version of Technology and Copyright Law, the authors expand on new developments in the world of copyright, including those in the areas of legislation and case law. Special chapters provide information on the law's enablement for those who work with the blind and physically handicapped, and the use of copyrighted materials in distance education. Divided into four parts, this valuable resource covers topics that include: existing law - what was it's intention, how it developed, where it's going; guidance for making copyright decisions in day-to-day situations; electronic classroom and international copyright agreements; glossary of important terms and phrases and mandated words; lists of exclusive rights of copyright holders, as well as limitations on those rights; and, the TEACH Act and its implications for libraries and classrooms.

Based on a series of previously published articles, Technology Law adopts a reader-friendly approach to the problems and issues facing those of us who depend on technology to make a living. Avoiding technical jargon, this book offers simple explanations of why certain laws exist, what they mean, and suggestions for responding to them responsibly and effectively.

---

Here are authoritative answers to the critical legal questions that make digital collection development and management so challenging and complex. Librarians, educators, technology leaders, information science educators, and anyone involved with digitized content will find this volume useful.

---

'The Electronic Copyright Handbook' provides library and information professionals with practical guidance to minimize the risk of copyright infringement.

---

The complex world of online piracy and peer-to-peer file sharing is skillfully condensed into an easy-to-understand guide that provides insight into the criminal justice approach to illegal file sharing, while offering guidance to parents and students who have concerns about potential legal action in response to file-sharing activities.

---

Drawing on previously unknown legal archives, Robert Spoo recounts efforts by James Joyce, Ezra Pound, Bennett Cerf--the founder of Random House--and others to crush piracy, reform U.S. copyright law, and define the public domain.Featuring a colorful cast of characters made up of frustrated authors, anxious publishers, and willful pirates, Spoo provides an engaging history of the American public domain, a commons shaped by custom as much as by law, and of piracy's complex role in the culture of creativity.