You will be prompted for your BRUIN Connect login when you attempt to access the online library databases from off-campus. Your password is the same one you use for Blackboard. If you experience issues logging in, try clearing your browsing history and/or change browsers Make sure your password is current; it must be changed every 90 days. Click here to change your password.
BELLEVUE UNIVERSITY INFORMATION LITERACY DEVELOPMENT
INTERACTIVE TUTORIAL
http://library.bellevue.edu/find/tutorials/build-it/
BUILD IT is an online guide to the Bellevue University Library and all its resources and services. It is made up of five self contained modules, each followed by an interactive quiz. Go through BUILD IT from beginning to end or start at the Site Map using just the pages you need. Click on the link above or on one of the modules below, or look for BUILD IT in the left menu of the library homepage under Tutorials.
Module One: Getting to Know the Bellevue University Library
An overview of library resources and services and introduction to the library homepage.
Module Two: Planning Your Project
The steps involved in planning your research paper: Includes focusing your topic, outlining, identifying keywords, Boolean searching, and more.
Module Three: Locating Information
Finding and evaluating information, including books, eBooks, articles, and websites. Includes sample and interactive database searches.
Module Four: Citing Your Sources
Covers the basics of plagiarism, citation, and copyright.
Module Five: Putting it all together
How to organize your research into a formal paper, includes note taking, revising, and formatting.
Welcome to the Hot Topics LibGuide about abortion. Abortion is a medical or surgical procedure that deliberately ends a pregnancy before an embryo or fetus is born.
On January 22, 1973, the U.S. Supreme Court ruled that a woman's right to an abortion is protected through the first trimester in the Roe v. Wade legal case. On June 24, 2022, the US Supreme Court overturned Roe v. Wade, the landmark 1973 Supreme Court decision that affirmed the constitutional right to abortion. Over decades, research has demonstrated that abortion bans most severely impact people in marginalized groups who already struggle to access health care, including abortion. Abortion has always been highly controversial and states have enacted laws restricting and regulating access to abortions.
This guide provides research and information related to various aspects of this topic. Resources include print and electronic books, subscription databases, and websites. Each print book title links directly to the library online catalog, each e-book and journal article title links directly to the full text. Databases are recommended that are particularly helpful for continuing research on the topic. Credible and relevant websites are also recommended.
Other Hot Topics LibGuides in the series include:
Source: Gallup
Percentage of Adults in 2022 Who Say Abortion Should be Legal / Illegal
Click on the image for more information
Source: Pew Research Center
Percentage of U.S. Adults Who Say Abortion Should be Legal / Illegal (According to Party / Ideology)
Click on the image for more information
Click HERE to view more Abortion Trends by Political Party from Gallup
Library on the Go
Date: Thursday, November 21, 2024
Time: 11:00am - 12:30pm CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Campus: Bellevue University Educational Services Building (ESB), Upper Lobby
Information: HERE
***
Stop by our table to browse books, enjoy snacks, hear about Library programming, and be entered into a book raffle! We will be bringing books for the themes of Youthful Protagonists, Movie Anniversaries, Around the World, and New Arrivals.
Online Library Instruction
Date: Tuesday, November 26, 2024
Time: 6:00pm - 7:00pm CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Online: Register HERE
This is an online meeting. Registration is required.
***
Want to know more about how to navigate the library website and utilize its resources and tools? This instructor-led online library instruction tutorial will walk you through the main functions of the library, and show you how and where to search. This is a great tool for online students who want a more in depth understanding of the library without having to visit the library.
Common Research Pitfalls - Subject Headings & Cited Sources
Date: Wednesday, December 4, 2024
Time: 3:00pm - 4:00pm CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Online: Register HERE
This is an online meeting. Registration is required.
***
Learn how to find appropriate Library of Congress headings and use those headings in the catalog to search. Reference Librarian Kyle Williams will teach you search tactics for finding related articles through sources cited in the Discovery Search. With this information, you will be able to utilize the Library's catalog to streamline your search process.
Fidget Jewelry Craft
Date: Thursday, December 5, 2024
Time: 2:00pm - 3:00pm CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Campus: Bellevue University Freeman/Lozier Library, Main Area
Information: HERE
***
Stop in the Library and create fidget-friendly jewelry or keychains! Supplies will be provided.
Hot Cocoa Bar
Date: Tuesday, December 17, 2024
Time: All Day
Campus: Bellevue University Freeman/Lozier Library, Main Area
Information: HERE
***
Drop by the Library and make yourself a tasty cup of cocoa. Choose from a variety of mix-ins while supplies last!
Virtual Reference Help
(Ongoing)
Date: Schedule at least 24 hours in advance
Time: CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Campus: Remote Session (Zoom meeting)
Online: Make an Appointment
This is an online meeting. Registration is required.
****
Do you have reference questions or need help using library resources? Book a Zoom room to chat with one of our librarians! They can walk through the problem with you and even share your screen (if you get stuck).
Research Assistance Program (RAP)
(Ongoing)
Enroll: Information
****
The Research Assistance Program (RAP) pairs you with a BU Librarian to work with one-on-one throughout your academic career and answer questions about the research process.
