LibGuides: Hot Topics: Gender: Introduction to Gender

Quick Links

Bellevue University Library
BUILD IT
An online guide to the Bellevue University Library and all its resources and services
Copyright Center
Cyberactive Online Classroom
Interlibrary Loan
Library Databases
Library Hours/Contacts

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
An online research management platform including a bibliography composer and note-taking features.
What is it?
NoodleTools is a resource that allows students to evaluate resources, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. it generates accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian references with options to annotate and archive lists of documents. It offers a visual 'tabletop' to manipulate, tag and pile notecards, then connect them in outlines to prepare for writing.
Why use it?
Use this resource if you are looking for an all-in-one resource to assist with note-taking, citations, and pre-writing projects.

Personal Librarian Program
A member of the reference team will work with you one-on-one throughout your academic career to answer your questions about the research process.
more...less...
Previously called the Research Assistance Program
Writing Center
Zoom for Reference
Need help? Sign up for a 60-minute Zoom session with the Library Reference Team. Sessions are offered Monday through Friday 9-6 PM.

Overview of Gender

Gender Identity by Encyclopedia Britannica
Publication Date: 2020.
Discusses gender identity and how it differs from biological sex, as well as, how it has been a controversial idea with some arguing gender identity is fixed at birth and others saying it is socially constructed
Gender Identity by Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection
Publication Date: 2019
Discusses three options when discussing gender identity: masculine, feminine, and non-binary. However, non-binary involves many variations. Other terms used include gender-nonconforming, genderqueer, or even agender (without gender).
Third Gender by Hollimon, S. E .in The International Encyclopedia of Human Sexuality
Publication Date: 2015
Discusses the Native American belief of three or more genders which are identified as culturally distinct from men and women. These genders are believed to have special attributes granted by a supernatural power.
Gender Identity Formation by Slavin, Lesley A., Slaughter, Virginia,in Salem Press Encyclopedia of Health
Publication Date: 2019
A Research Starter from EBSCOhost introduces the topic of gender identity formation and what influences it as a child develops.

Gender Identity - Slide Show

Self-Reported Masculinity among US Men and Femininity among US Women, by Age and Race and Ethnicity, 2016

Source: Self-Reported Masculinity among US Men and Femininity among US Women, by Age and Race/Ethnicity, 2016" Gale Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection, Gale,

Self-Reported Masculinity among US Men and Femininity among US Women, by Age and Race and Ethnicity, 2016

Source: Self-Reported Masculinity among US Men and Femininity among US Women, by Age and Race/Ethnicity, 2016" Gale Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection, Gale,

Perceived Importance of Being Seen by Others as Masculine or Feminine - Women

Source: Kim Parker, Juliana Menasce Horowitz, and Renee Stepler. “On Gender Differences, No Consensus on Nature vs. Nurture.” Pew Research Center, December 5, 2017. http://www.pewsocialtrends.org/2017/12/05/on-gender-differences-no-consensus-on-nature-vs-nurture/