LibGuides: Sociology and Behavioral Science: Databases

Sociology/Behavioral Science Subject Resources

Academic Search Complete
Full text access to more than 3.300 journals (7,700 peer-reviewed) from a broad range of academic disciplines.
Alexander Street Video
A multidisciplinary collection of streaming video which includes content in 22 discipline areas.
more...less...
Also known as Vast Streaming Video
ArticleFirst
Index only for 16,000+ journals. Contains over 27 million records, content from 1990 to the present, and covers a diverse range of disciplines.
Credo Reference
One-stop access to over 275 reference titles from 57 academic publishers. Includes information in multiple formats: text, images, sound files, and more.
eBooks on EBSCOhost
Search and view the full text of eBooks.
EBSCOhost
Through this link you can search all of the EBSCO databases at one time, including Academic Search Premier, Biography Reference Bank, Business Source Complete, and International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center,
Films on Demand
Provides immediate access to a streaming videos geared for the educational community.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A database of e-books covering most academic subject areas.
What is it?
Gale eBooks delivers titles covering the most studied subject areas. This database is optimized for search, accessible simultaneously from any device, integrated with Google, and loaded with tools for bookmarking, downloading, and sharing.
Why use it?
Use this database if you are looking for e-books on academic subjects.

Gender Studies Database
This database covers the full spectrum of gender studies including gender inequality, masculinity, postfeminism, gender identity and more.
Kanopy
Kanopy - Provides streaming videos for educational institutions on a variety of subjects,. and includes titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
An online resource covering today's most relevant social issues.
What is it?
Opposing Viewpoints in Context presents each side of an issue and helps students develop their own valid conclusions. Content includes 20,100+ pro/con viewpoints, 19,200+ reference articles, 12,700+ charts and graphs, and 300+ profiles of federal agencies and special interest groups.
Why use it?
Use this resource if you require information about divisive social issues and opposing views on hot topics of the day.
Video Tutorial
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
An extensive combination of entries across Oxford University Press's dictionaries, companions, and encyclopedias, spanning several different subject areas.
What is it?
Oxford Reference Online provides access to 150+ academic dictionaries and 230+ tiles from Oxford University's Press's encyclopedias and companions. This format allows students to find/check individual facts and conduct comprehensive research on specific topics using the same resource. Students are also able to refine their searches using filters and share content with integrated tools.
Why use it?
Use this resource if you require general academic information in a variety of academic subject areas.

ProQuest
Search all of the ProQuest databases at one time
ProQuest Career & Technical Education
Full text of over 460 titles covering a wide variety of research in many technical areas, including computing science, healthcare, accounting, law, and nutrition.
ProQuest Central
This database covers more than 160 subjects areas searching more than two dozen ProQuest databases simultaneously.
ProQuest Criminal Justice Periodicals
75+ full-text U.S. and international criminal justice periodicals. 230 titles indexed and abstracted. Coverage: 1981 to present.
ProQuest Psychology Journals
Diverse coverage of materials related to psychology. 520 full text journals and 4,000 full text psychology related dissertations.
ProQuest Religion
115+ full text titles covering doctrine, philosophy, religious history, and archaeology related to Christianity, Islam, Judaism; and Buddhism.
ProQuest Research Library
2,550+ full text titles chosen to support research in popular academic subjects. Includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
ProQuest Social Science Journals
Indexing for over 500 varied social science journals, with over half being full text.
PsycARTICLES
Full text, peer-reviewed journal content from 50 American Psychological Association (APA) and allied organizations. Coverage from 1894 to present.
PsycBOOKS
Full text of scholarly books published by American Psychological Association (APA) and other distinguished publishers dating back to 1806. Includes Encyclopedia of Psychology by APA/Oxford Press.
WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)
OCLC online catalog of library materials from across the globe. Includes local library holdings.