Common Research Pitfalls - Subject Headings & Cited Sources
Date: Wednesday, December 4, 2024
Time: 3:00pm - 4:00pm CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Online: Register HERE
This is an online meeting. Registration is required.
***
Learn how to find appropriate Library of Congress headings and use those headings in the catalog to search. Reference Librarian Kyle Williams will teach you search tactics for finding related articles through sources cited in the Discovery Search. With this information, you will be able to utilize the Library's catalog to streamline your search process.
Fidget Jewelry Craft
Date: Thursday, December 5, 2024
Time: 2:00pm - 3:00pm CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Campus: Bellevue University Freeman/Lozier Library, Main Area
Information: HERE
***
Stop in the Library and create fidget-friendly jewelry or keychains! Supplies will be provided.
Hot Cocoa Bar
Date: Tuesday, December 17, 2024
Time: All Day
Campus: Bellevue University Freeman/Lozier Library, Main Area
Information: HERE
***
Drop by the Library and make yourself a tasty cup of cocoa. Choose from a variety of mix-ins while supplies last!
Virtual Reference Help
(Ongoing)
Date: Schedule at least 24 hours in advance
Time: CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Campus: Remote Session (Zoom meeting)
Online: Make an Appointment
This is an online meeting. Registration is required.
****
Do you have reference questions or need help using library resources? Book a Zoom room to chat with one of our librarians! They can walk through the problem with you and even share your screen (if you get stuck).
Research Assistance Program (RAP)
(Ongoing)
Enroll: Information
****
The Research Assistance Program (RAP) pairs you with a BU Librarian to work with one-on-one throughout your academic career and answer questions about the research process.
Welcome to the Bellevue University guide for Writing Basics: Grammar. This guide provides resources to help students improve their grasp of grammar to improve their writing. Resources include books, eBooks, streaming videos, and web resources, In addition, a special section for ESL students is provided.
If you need assistance using or accessing these resources, please contact the Library Reference Staff
The Writer's Reference Center is one of the library databases. It provides access to in-depth writing and research tools, including a grammar section, vocabulary building dictionaries, and 150+ essays covering writing topics. Look under Find on the library homepage, click on Databases, then click on the "W" shortcut under "Browse by Title." Click on the tabs above for more details.
This section guides students through the process of producing a paper that will say what they want it to say while achieving the intended purpose. It includes these topics:
This section discusses the nuts and bolts that hold the basic structure of a text together; in other words, the principles and conventions that underpin all communication in the English language. It is divided into three areas:
What is Style? This is a difficult term to define, but it is easier to recognize. You could say it is the manner in which something is done than lifts it above the ordinary. This section describes style as it relates to writing, noting that:
Some of the topics discussed are:
|
BELLEVUE UNIVERSITY INFORMATION LITERACY DEVELOPMENT
INTERACTIVE TUTORIAL
http://library.bellevue.edu/find/tutorials/build-it/
BUILD IT is an online guide to the Bellevue University Library and all its resources and services. It is made up of five self contained modules, each followed by an interactive quiz. Go through BUILD IT from beginning to end or start at the Site Map using just the pages you need. Click on the link above or on one of the modules below, or look for BUILD IT in the left menu of the library homepage under Tutorials.
Module One: Getting to Know the Bellevue University Library
An overview of library resources and services and introduction to the library homepage.
Module Two: Planning Your Project
The steps involved in planning your research paper: Includes focusing your topic, outlining, identifying keywords, Boolean searching, and more.
Module Three: Locating Information
Finding and evaluating information, including books, eBooks, articles, and websites. Includes sample and interactive database searches.
Module Four: Citing Your Sources
Covers the basics of plagiarism, citation, and copyright.
Module Five: Putting it all together
How to organize your research into a formal paper, includes note taking, revising, and formatting.
You will be prompted for your BRUIN Connect login when you attempt to access the online library databases from off-campus. Your password is the same one you use for Blackboard. If you experience issues logging in, try clearing your browsing history and/or change browsers Make sure your password is current; it must be changed every 90 days. Click here to change your password.
