CIS612 (Computing Platforms and Network Technologies): Websites
This LibGuide contains electronic resources to support CIS 612, including eBooks, journal articles, streaming videos, and websites. Choose the appropriate tab for the resource you wish to access.
An online research management platform including a bibliography composer and note-taking features.
What is it?
NoodleTools is a resource that allows students to evaluate resources, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. it generates accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian references with options to annotate and archive lists of documents. It offers a visual 'tabletop' to manipulate, tag and pile notecards, then connect them in outlines to prepare for writing. Why use it?
Use this resource if you are looking for an all-in-one resource to assist with note-taking, citations, and pre-writing projects.
http://foldoc.org/
FOLDOC is a computing dictionary. It includes definitions of acronyms, jargon, programming languages, tools, architecture, operating systems, networking, theory, standards, mathematics, telecoms, electronics, institutions and companies, projects, history, in fact any of the vocabulary you might expect to find in a computer dictionary.
http://www.cse.psu.edu/~trj1/cse443-s12/docs/ch4.pdf
This chapter examines the requirements of a secure operating system. The UNIX and Windows Operating Systems are examined and the author explains why neither are fundamentally secure operating systems.
http://www.tutorialspoint.com/operating_system/os_overview.htm
"An operating System (OS) is an intermediary between users and computer hardware. It provides users an environment in which a user can execute programs conveniently and efficiently.
In technical terms, It is a software which manages hardware. An operating System controls the allocation of resources and services such as memory, processors, devices and information."
