Book Tasting Program
(In-Person)
Date: Tuesday, April 11, 2023
Time: 2:00pm - 3:00pm CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Campus: Bellevue University Freeman/Lozier Library, Main Area
Online: Register HERE
****
Guests are invited to sit and hear about a sampling of books. While listening to the tasting menu, themed snacks will be provided for your enjoyment.
Primo Catalog Demonstration
(Online)
Date: Wednesday, April 12, 2023
Time: 10:00am - 11:00am CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Online: Register HERE
This is an online meeting. Registration is required.
****
Join Reference/Instruction Librarian Lorraine Patrick on a tour of the new library catalog. Searching techniques and strategies will be highlighted to get you on your way so that you can research the library and locate materials in no time! This is a session you will not want to miss.
The event link and instructions detailing how to join the live webinar presentation will be sent to the provided e-mail address 3 hours prior to the start of the event. We'll see you there!
Online Library Instruction
Date: Thursday, April 13, 2023
Time: 10:00am - 11:00am CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Online: Register HERE
This is an online meeting. Registration is required.
***
Want to know more about how to navigate the library website and utilize its resources and tools? This instructor-led online library instruction tutorial will walk you through the main functions of the library, and show you how and where to search. This is a great tool for online students who want a more in depth understanding of the library without having to visit the library.
The event link and instructions detailing how to join the live webinar presentation will be sent to the provided e-mail address 3 hours prior to the start of the event. We'll see you there!
Library on the Go
(In-Person)
Date: Thursday, April 20, 2023
Time: 11:00am - 12:30pm CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Campus: Bellevue University ESB, Upper Level Lobby
****
Stop by our table to browse books, enjoy snacks, hear about Library programming, and be entered into a book raffle! We will be bringing books for Sci-Fi, Quick Reads, Fairy Tales, and New Arrivals.
There's More to Storytelling
(In-Person)
Date: Tuesday, April 25, 2023
Time: 12:30pm - 1:30pm CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Campus: Bellevue University Freeman/Lozier Library, LIB 460
Online: Register HERE
****
Celebrate National Library Week with us! Join the library for a workshop with Ann Markim, a local author, about writing and worldbuilding. Registration is required.
Online Library Instruction
Date: Wednesday, April 26, 2023
Time: 6:00pm - 7:00pm CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Online: Register HERE
This is an online meeting. Registration is required.
***
Want to know more about how to navigate the library website and utilize its resources and tools? This instructor-led online library instruction tutorial will walk you through the main functions of the library, and show you how and where to search. This is a great tool for online students who want a more in depth understanding of the library without having to visit the library.
The event link and instructions detailing how to join the live webinar presentation will be sent to the provided e-mail address 3 hours prior to the start of the event. We'll see you there!
Makerspace Demo
Date: Thursday, April 27, 2023
Time: 2:00pm - 3:00pm CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
***
Stop in the Library for a workshop highlighting our new makerspace collection and demonstrating how to use it!
Virtual Reference Help Drop-In
(Ongoing)
Date: Mondays & Wednesdays (coming up - April 03 & 05)
Time: 9am - 11am CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Campus: Remote Session (Zoom meeting)
Online: Access HERE
****
Do you have reference questions or need help using library resources? Drop into this Zoom room to chat with one of our librarians! They can walk through the problem with you and even share your screen (if you get stuck).
Purdue OWL offers over 200 free resources related to writing.
General Writing
Covers the writing process for general,academic, and assignment writing, and includes writing mechanics, punctuation, and grammar.
Research and Citation
The basics of conducting research. The most popular features of the Purdue OWL are the style guides for APA, MLA, and Chicago.
Teacher and Tutor Resources
Though geared toward the teaching of writing, there are many useful handouts for students, including those addressing plagiarism.
Subject Specific Writing
This area provides resources on technical writing, writing in literature, social sciences, and engineering, as well as medical writing, journalistic writing, and creative writing.
Other sections include Job Search Writing and ESL Resources. Consult the Site Map for a complete look at OWL
Welcome to the Bellevue University guide for MSM601-604. This guide provides a good starting point for general research on this topic. Resources include print and electronic books, subscription databases, and websites. Each print book title links directly to the library online catalog, while each e-book title links directly to the full text of the book. Database recommendations link directly to the specific database. Recommended websites cover various aspects of the topic.
You will be prompted for your Bellevue University login when accessing the library resources from off campus.
If you need further assistance, please contact the Bellevue University Library Reference Staff
Here are some other helpful guides related to reading comprehension, writing and math.
BELLEVUE UNIVERSITY INFORMATION LITERACY DEVELOPMENT
INTERACTIVE TUTORIAL
http://library.bellevue.edu/buildit/index.html
BUILD IT is an online guide to the Bellevue University LIbrary and all its resources and services. It is made up of five self contained modules, each followed by an interacctive quiz. Go through BUILD IT from beginning to end or start at the Site Map using just the pages you need. Click on the link above or on one of the modules below, or look for BUILD IT in the left menu of the library homepage under Tutorials.
Module One: Getting to Know the Bellevue University Library -
An overview of library resources and services and introduction to the library homepage.
Module Two: Planning Your Project
The steps involved in planning your research paper: Includes focusing your topic, outlining, identifying keywords, Boolean searching, and more.
Module Three: Locating Information
Finding and evaluating information, including books, ebooks, articles, and websites. Includes sample and interactive database searches.
Module Fours: Citing Your Sources
Covers the basics of plagiarism, citation, and copyright.
Module Five: Putting it all together
How to organize your research into a formal paper, includes notetaking, revising, and formatting.
