LibGuides: Critical Understanding: Streaming Videos

Library Video Databases

The following library databases can be accessed from the Databases page.

Alexander Street Video - Multidisciplinary collection contains thousands of videos.
Films on Demand - Provides streaming films from sources such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences and Cambridge Educational
Kanopy - Provides streaming videos on a variety of subjects; includes titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.

Here is a FULL LIST of library databases that include streaming videos.

Bellevue University Library
BUILD IT
An online guide to the Bellevue University Library and all its resources and services
Copyright Center
Cyberactive Online Classroom
Interlibrary Loan
Library Databases
Library Hours/Contacts
Personal Librarian Program
A member of the reference team will work with you one-on-one throughout your academic career to answer your questions about the research process.
more...less...
Previously called the Research Assistance Program
Writing Center
Zoom for Reference
Need help? Sign up for a 60-minute Zoom session with the Library Reference Team. Sessions are offered Monday through Friday 9-6 PM.

1.4: What do we mean by critical thinking skills?
Alexander Street Video: 4:00
Critical Thinking is essential for all areas of modern life, this episode explores what it means and why it is so important.
4 ways to develop your critical thinking
Alexander Street Video: 9:00
This video, 4 Ways to Develop Your Critical Thinking, will help you develop one of the most sought after skills at work. Critical thinking exposes you to a wider range of views, helps you question yourself and others, examines orthodoxies and their consequences, and enhances problem-solving and independence.
Critical thinking: Understanding multiple perspectives
Alexander Street Video: 1:00
Taking a step back and evaluating a situation from multiple perspectives grants you the ability to make an objective judgement, this animation provides examples on how to achieve this.
Media & the mind
Alexander Street Video: 9:00
First thing's first: what is media literacy? In our first episode, Jay breaks this question down and explains how we're going to use it to explore our media saturated world.
A student's guide to critical thinking
Alexander Street Video: 14:00
In this video, viewers will understand what it takes to think critically – to determine the facts of a subject without prejudice, place these facts and information in a pattern to better understand and explain them, and accept and reject conclusions based upon experience, judgment, and beliefs.