It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Substance Abuse: Videos
Click on tabs below for resources on this subject.
The following library databases can be accessed from the Databases page.
Films on Demand - Provides streaming films from sources such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences and Cambridge Educational. Kanopy - Provides streaming videos on a variety of subjects; includes titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. Alexander Street Videos - Multidisciplinary collection contains thousands of videos.
Films on Demand (42:46 min)
his film examines why medical schools, GPs and specialists in pain clinics readily embraced the drug at first, and why some have now changed their minds. The manufacturer has now stopped making it altogether, replacing it with a new formulation known as OxyNeo.
Films on Demand (59:10 min)
Through the personal and emotional stories of those who have dealt with addiction, either as a user or concerned family member, the film sheds light on the struggles of ordinary people whose lives turned on a dime after minor and major ailments led to the over-prescription of highly addictive opioids, which are often the gateway to heroin. Featuring home videos and pictures that humanize this health crisis, along with important statistics and information about opioid use and treatment,
Films on Demand (40:05 min)
In this 20/20 special report, David Muir takes us to New Hampshire and inside the lives of recovering heroin addicts, their families, the health professionals working to help them, and those who do not survive.
Films on Demand (19:28 min)
Teenage drug use has reached epidemic proportions on some high school institutions. Most teens have a tendency to feel indestructible and immune to the problems that others experience. Some teens will experiment with alcohol, drugs, prescription medications and may continue to use and develop a dependency.
Films on Demand (20:21 min)
This BBC program investigates the increasing number of opioid painkillers being prescribed at famlly doctor level, with one leading pain specialist now seeing patients at pain clinics on doses well above the amount believed to be effective. The rise in the use of these painkillers, which come from the same chemical family as heroin, could be putting these patients at higher risk of side effects—including addiction—with potentially little effect on their chronic pain.