LibGuides: Game Design and Development: Elements

Quick Links

Bellevue University Library
BUILD IT
An online guide to the Bellevue University Library and all its resources and services
Copyright Center
Cyberactive Online Classroom
Interlibrary Loan
Library Databases
Library Hours/Contacts

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
An online research management platform including a bibliography composer and note-taking features.
What is it?
NoodleTools is a resource that allows students to evaluate resources, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. it generates accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian references with options to annotate and archive lists of documents. It offers a visual 'tabletop' to manipulate, tag and pile notecards, then connect them in outlines to prepare for writing.
Why use it?
Use this resource if you are looking for an all-in-one resource to assist with note-taking, citations, and pre-writing projects.

Research Assistance Program
A member of the reference team will work with you one-on-one throughout your academic career to answer your questions about the research process.
Writing Center
Zoom for Reference
Need help? Sign up for a 60-minute Zoom session with the Library Reference Team. Sessions are offered Monday through Friday 9-6 PM.

Disciplines

There are many elements and components within the field of game design, especially in digital mediums. Some of these include System design, World design, Content design, Game Writing, Level design, User Interface design, and Audio design. All of these disciplines combine to form an overall User Experience.

The resources on the right are arranged by type: eBooks, journal articles, videos, and websites. They all relate to game design components in some way, though individual resources may cover more focused elements.

Elements

Actionable gamification by Chou, Y.
ISBN: 9781839211706
Publication Date: 2019
Ebooks in EBSCOhost
Advanced game design by Sellers, M.
ISBN: 9780134667607
Publication Date: 2017
O'Reilly for Higher Education
The art of adaptation in film and video games by Thomas, C.
ISBN: 9783036549002
Publication Date: 2022
Directory of Open Access Books
Classic game design: From Pong to Pac-Man with Unity by Lanzinger, F.
ISBN: 9781683923855
Publication Date: 2019
Books 24/7
Games and rules by Suter, B., Kocher, M., & Bauer, R.
ISBN: 9783839443040
Publication Date: 2019
Directory of Open Access Books
Game on!: Gamification, gameful design, and the rise of the gamer educator by Bell, K.
ISBN: 9781421423968
Publication Date: 2018
Ebooks in EBSCOhost
Game design and intelligent interaction by Deliyannis, I.
ISBN: 9781838800109
Publication Date: 2020
Directory of Open Access Books
How to make a game: Go from idea to publication avoiding the common pitfalls along the way by Fahe, M. and Khan, T. H.
ISBN: 9781484269169
Publication Date: 2021
O'Reilly for Higher Education
Practical game design: Learn the art of game design through applicable skills and cutting-edge insights by de Nucci, E. and Kramarzewski, A.
ISBN: 9781787121799
Publication Date: 2018
ProQuest Ebook Central
Virtual reality blueprints: Create compelling VR experiences for mobile and desktop by Palmer, C. and Williamson, J.
ISBN: 9781786462985
Publication Date: 2018
Ebooks in EBSCOhost

Designing for disability: Evaluating the state of accessibility design in video games by Brown, M. and Anderson, S. L.
Games & Culture. (2021), 16 (6), 702-718.
Dynamic games for secure and resilient control system design by Huang, Y. et al
National Science Review. (2020), 7 (7), 1125-1141.
Flow and Pokemon Go: The contribution of game level, playing alone, and nostagia to the flow state by Loveday, P. and Burgess, J.
e-Journal of Social & Behavioural Research in Business. (2017), 8(2),
Masculine pleasures as normalized practices: Character design in the video game industry by Tompkins, J. E., & Martins, N.
Games and Culture. (2022), 17(3), 399-420.
An operational study of video games' genres by Qaffas, A. A.
International Journal of Interactive Mobile Technologies. (2020), 14 (15), 175-194.
Sound design inducing attention in the context of audiovisual immersive environments by Salselas, I.; Penha, R.; and Bernardes, G.
Personal & Ubiquitous Computing.(2021), 25 (4), 737-748.
Worldbuilding components and transmedial extensions of computer role-playing games by Bostan, B.; Tinli, B.; and Çatak, G.
Culture & Communication / Kültür ve Iletisim. (2020), 23 (45), 273-295.

The 5 golden rules of input
(Game Developer) Easy to follow rules on how to support gamepad and mouse/keyboard like a world boss. This article covers a high-level input detection engine and 5 rules that will provide a great player input experience.
Applying game design logic to your design system
(UX Collective) Mechanics, interaction, & experience build a better system.
A beginner's guide to designing video game levels
(Envatotuts+) In this tutorial, I'll explain how to design levels for video games, based on my experience as a designer for the Ratchet & Clank, Resistance, and Skylanders franchises. I'm not going to dive deep into individual concepts, but rather give an outline of the high-level process I use when designing a level.
Components of video game design
(The Art Career Project) To better understand the many specialties within the field of video game design, we have broken them down into seven general categories: Game World, Storyline, Characters, Look and Feel, Content, Sound & Quality Assurance.
How to make a video game: 5 elements great games have
(Get Me Coding) These elements are what the best video games have had for over 30 years.
How to make your own UI sounds
(Gamedev) Breaking down my method of creating UI sounds for video games. I go through my process from start to finish to create a navigation, menu open/close, option select, error and save sounds.
Yes, you have to write a game plot summary; and yes, it has to be good
(Game Developer) If you’re working on an overall story document for your team’s game and you’re not sure how to approach it, here’s some advice.

LibGuide Curator

Kyle Williams

Email Me

Game Design and Development: Elements

Quick Links

Disciplines

Elements

LibGuide Curator

Need help? Ask a Librarian!