Skip to main content

Collaboration Toolbox: Intrapersonal Skills

Intrapersonal Skills tool

Intrapersonal Skills are talents or abilities that reside within the individual and aid him or her in problem solving (National Research Council (US) Committee on the Assessment of 21st Century Skills, 2011).

Employers want to have people who can cope with uncertain, new, and rapidly changing conditions on the job.  This includes responding effectively to emergencies or crisis situations and learning new tasks, technologies, and procedures.  The ability to handle work stress, adapt to different personalities, and communication styles, and cultures is also critical (National Research Council (US) COmmittee on the Assessment of 21st Century Skills, 2011).

In this section you will find important resources on adaptability, self-management/ development, initiative, self-confidence, resilience, and perseverance.

Source: National Research Council (US) Committee on the Assessment of 21st Century Skills. (2011). Assessing Intrapersonal Skills. In Assessing 21st century skills: Summary of a workshop (4). Retrieved from http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK84217/

Tutorials

Library Video Databases

The following library databases can be accessed from the Databases page.

Films on Demand - Provides streaming films from sources such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences and Cambridge Educational.
Kanopy - Provides streaming videos on a variety of subjects; includes titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
Alexander Street Videos - Multidisciplinary collection contains thousands of videos.

Important! 
If videos are not visible, they are being blocked by the security settings in your browser. Click on the red x in the address bar of your browser and allow content.

If you are not logged into the online library, please login before playing videos.

Library Videos

Journal Articles & eBooks