BELLEVUE UNIVERSITY INFORMATION LITERACY DEVELOPMENT
INTERACTIVE TUTORIAL
http://library.bellevue.edu/find/tutorials/build-it/
BUILD IT is an online guide to the Bellevue University Library and all its resources and services. It is made up of five self contained modules, each followed by an interactive quiz. Go through BUILD IT from beginning to end or start at the Site Map using just the pages you need. Click on the link above or on one of the modules below, or look for BUILD IT in the left menu of the library homepage under Tutorials.
Module One: Getting to Know the Bellevue University Library
An overview of library resources and services and introduction to the library homepage.
Module Two: Planning Your Project
The steps involved in planning your research paper: Includes focusing your topic, outlining, identifying keywords, Boolean searching, and more.
Module Three: Locating Information
Finding and evaluating information, including books, eBooks, articles, and websites. Includes sample and interactive database searches.
Module Four: Citing Your Sources
Covers the basics of plagiarism, citation, and copyright.
Module Five: Putting it all together
How to organize your research into a formal paper, includes note taking, revising, and formatting.
Welcome to the Bellevue University guide for Job Hunting and Resume Writing. This guide provides a good starting point for general research on this topic. Resources include print and electronic books, subscription databases, and websites. Each print book title links directly to the library online catalog, while each e-book title links directly to the full text of the book. Database recommendations link directly to the specific database. Recommended websites cover various aspects of the topic. For best results, use GoogleChrome. If further assistance is needed, please contact the Library Reference Staff.
You will be prompted for your BRUIN Connect login when you attempt to access the online library databases from off-campus. Your password is the same one you use for Blackboard. If you experience issues logging in, try clearing your browsing history and/or change browsers Make sure your password is current; it must be changed every 90 days. Click here to change your password.
Common Research Pitfalls - Subject Headings & Cited Sources
Date: Monday, April 28, 2025
Time: 3:00pm - 4:00pm CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Online: Register HERE
This is an online meeting. Registration is required.
***
In this session, Reference Librarian Kyle Williams will highlight the library's many databases and teach you how to select the best option for your specific research needs. This information will set you up for success when working on research projects.
Online Library Instruction
Date: Tuesday, May 6, 2025
Time: 2:00pm - 3:00pm CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Online: Register HERE
This is an online meeting. Registration is required.
***
Want to know more about how to navigate the library website and utilize its resources and tools? This instructor-led online library instruction tutorial will walk you through the main functions of the library, and show you how and where to search. This is a great tool for online students who want a more in depth understanding of the library without having to visit the library.
Movie Viewing
The Books He Didn't Burn
Date: Wednesday, May 7, 2025
Time: 2:00pm - 3:30pm CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Campus: Bellevue University Criss Auditorium (in the Hitchcock Humanities Center)
Information: HERE
***
Join the Library for a showing of the documentary The Books He Didn't Burn. This film follows American historian Timothy Ryback takes a critical look at the history of Western thought as he examines the remains of Adolf Hitler's private library, which contained 16,000 books at the end of his life - 1,200 of which are kept in the Library of Congress in Washington D.C. today.
Seed Starters & Seed Bombs
Date: Thursday, May 8, 2025
Time: 2:00pm - 3:00pm CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Campus: Bellevue University Freeman/Lozier Library
Information: HERE
***
Stop in the library and get your hands dirty by making your own seed starter kits and seed bombs! Supplies will be provided.
Virtual Reference Help
(Ongoing)
Date: Schedule at least 24 hours in advance
Time: CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Campus: Remote Session (Zoom meeting)
Online: Make an Appointment
This is an online meeting. Registration is required.
****
Do you have reference questions or need help using library resources? Book a Zoom room to chat with one of our librarians! They can walk through the problem with you and even share your screen (if you get stuck).
Personal Librarian Program
(Ongoing)
Enroll: Information
****
The Personal Librarian Program pairs you with a BU Librarian to work with one-on-one throughout your academic career and answer questions about the research process.
