LibGuides: HI 102 Western Civilization II: Citation

24/7 Librarian

Kyle Williams

Quick Links

Bellevue University Library
BUILD IT
An online guide to the Bellevue University Library and all its resources and services
Copyright Center
Cyberactive Online Classroom
Interlibrary Loan
Library Databases
Library Hours/Contacts

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
An online research management platform including a bibliography composer and note-taking features.

What is it?
NoodleTools is a resource that allows students to evaluate resources, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. it generates accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian references with options to annotate and archive lists of documents. It offers a visual 'tabletop' to manipulate, tag and pile notecards, then connect them in outlines to prepare for writing.
Why use it?
Use this resource if you are looking for an all-in-one resource to assist with note-taking, citations, and pre-writing projects.

Research Assistance Program
A member of the reference team will work with you one-on-one throughout your academic career to answer your questions about the research process.
Writing Center
Zoom for Reference
Need help? Sign up for a 60-minute Zoom session with the Library Reference Team. Sessions are offered Monday through Friday 9-6 PM.

Citation Tools

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
An online research management platform including a bibliography composer and note-taking features.
What is it?
NoodleTools is a resource that allows students to evaluate resources, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. it generates accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian references with options to annotate and archive lists of documents. It offers a visual 'tabletop' to manipulate, tag and pile notecards, then connect them in outlines to prepare for writing.
Why use it?
Use this resource if you are looking for an all-in-one resource to assist with note-taking, citations, and pre-writing projects.

A-Z Journal List
A comprehensive list of the library’s electronic and print titles providing a simple way to find information from among all of the databases and journals Bellevue University has access to.
more...less...
This is useful for locating journal articles when you have the citation. It will direct you to the electronic or physical location of the journal.
Citing Sources LibGuide
This guide provides information regarding APA and MLA sources in print and electronic formats and NoodleTools.
Bellevue University Writing Center
Located in Room 439 in the Learning Commons area of the Library building, trained consultants offer professional feedback and advice for writing projects of any kind. Email submissions are also accepted.
Basics of APA Style Tutorial
http://flash1r.apa.org/apastyle/basics/index.htm
In this tutorial you will learn how to apply some basic rules of APA Style.

Books

Concise rules of APA style by American Psychological Association.
Call Number: BF76.7.C66 2010
ISBN: 9781433805608
A Manual for writers of research papers, theses, and dissertations : Chicago Style for students and researchers by Turabian, Kate L.
Call Number: LB2369 .T8 2013
ISBN: 9780226816388
Mastering APA style: Student's workbook and training guide by American Psychological Association.
Call Number: REF BF76.8.G452 2010
ISBN: 143380557X
MLA handbook for writers of research papers by Gibaldi, Joseph,
Call Number: LB2369.G53 2009
ISBN: 9781603290241
The seventh edition is a comprehensive, up-to-date guide to research and writing in the online environment. It provides an authoritative update of MLA documentation style for use in student writing, including simplified guidelines for citing works published on the Web and new recommendations for citing several kinds of works, such as digital files and graphic narratives.
Publication manual of the American Psychological Association: The official guide - 7th Edition by American Psychological Association
Call Number: BF76.7 P83 2020
ISBN: 9781433832161
Writing with style : APA style made easy by Szuchman, Lenore T.
Call Number: BF76.8.S98 2011
ISBN: 9780840031679

The BU Writing Center

The Bellevue University Writing Center is located in the Learning Commons area of the Library building, Room 439. They can help you with citation questions as well as with the writing and organization of your paper. Make an apointment to see them in person or contact them by phone, (402) 557-5449, or email, writing@bellevue.edu. See website for details.

Websites

APA Video Tutorials

Five minute tutorials illustrating APA Style formating rules: