Introducing Bellevue University Library’s Copyright Tutorial! Learn about the elements of copyright while taking this interactive overview. This tutorial includes information on fair use, copyright with videos, images, how the library can assist you, and so much more.
Engaging with Streaming Videos
Have you ever watched a streaming video from one of our film databases? When you watched the video, did you watch it from a mobile device, a tablet, or a desktop? Were you on-campus or off-campus? What time of day did you watch it? Interestingly enough, all of this information gathered from these questions -- and much more, can be collected from analytic reports through some of the Library’s film databases.
Out of the Library’s three video databases, Alexander Street Videos, Films on Demand, and Kanopy, all of them provide us with the basic usage statistics such as the number of videos viewed each month. In fact, here are the total film views from July 2017 through April 2018 for these three databases:
Films on Demand: 35,862 Kanopy: 5,340 Alexander Street: 5,317
However, two of these databases provide us with further in-depth analytics. The following graphs and information are just some of these engaging metrics that can be retrieved from the two databases, Alexander Street Videos and Kanopy.
This chart shows that no matter which film database students are using, they still prefer to watch videos on a desktop computer. Mobile devices come in second, and tablets are seldom used to watch streaming films.
Continue reading this feature here.