Skip to main content

HI 101 Western Civilization I: Home

Click the tabs below for resources on Western Civilization I

Quick Links

Library News

It's official! The new BUILD IT has been launched and is available on the library website! You can access it under Find>Library Tutorials. The classic version is still available too but will be phased out eventually. Check out the new one and see what you think. 

The Summer edition of the library newsletter, More Than Books is now available. The feature story is “Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Management in the BU Library.

Episode 30 of the library "More Than Books" podcast, Summer Reading Clubis now available on iTunes. Joel and Colin talk about what they’ve been reading recently and what books they recommend others pick up.

Online library instruction from the comfort of your own home. A number of topics to help you get off to a good start for the Fall Term. Click here to see topics and times for August and September.

Welcome

Welcome to the Bellevue University guide for HI 101 Western Civilization I.  Western Civilization I studies the history, social norms, ethical values, traditional customs, belief systems, political systems, and specific artifacts and technologies that have some origin or association with Europe. Western culture is characterized by a host of artistic, philosophic, literary, and legal themes and traditions.  The heritage of Celtic, Germanic, Hellenic, Jewish, Slavic, Latin, and other ethnic and linguistic groups, as well as Christianity, which played an important part in the shaping of Western culture since at least the 4th century are explored. The course covers these aspects from ancient times to the dawn of Early Modern Europe.

This guide provides a good starting point for general research on this topic.  Resources include print and electronic books, subscription databases, and websites.  Each print book title links directly to the library online catalog, while each e-book title links directly to the full text of the book.  Database recommendations link directly to the specific database.  Recommended websites cover various aspects of the topic.

For best results, use Google Chrome. If you need further assistance, please contact the  Library Reference Staff

Libguides Video

Off-Campus Access

You will be prompted for your BU login when you attempt to access the library databases and e-books from off campus.Your username is your 8 digit student ID# preceded by Bellevue\ . Be sure to use a backslash and not a forward slash, after Bellevue, with no spaces before or after it. Your password is the same one you use for Blackboard and BRUIN. It must meet the requirements of 8-32 characters using a combination of upper and lower case letters, numerals, and special characters. You will be required to change your password every 90 days. 

BUILD IT

BUILD IT

BELLEVUE UNIVERSITY INFORMATION LITERACY DEVELOPMENT

INTERACTIVE TUTORIAL

http://library.bellevue.edu/find/tutorials/build-it/

BUILD IT is an online guide to the Bellevue University Library and all its resources and services. It  is made up of five self contained modules, each followed by an interactive quiz. Go through BUILD IT from beginning to end or start at the Site Map using just the pages you need. Click on the link above or on one of the modules below, or look for BUILD IT in the left menu of the library homepage under Tutorials.

Module One: Getting to Know the Bellevue University Library
An overview of library resources and services and introduction to the library homepage.

Module Two: Planning Your Project
The steps involved in planning your research paper: Includes focusing your topic, outlining, identifying keywords, Boolean searching, and more.

Module Three: Locating Information
Finding and evaluating information, including books, eBooks, articles, and websites. Includes sample and interactive database searches.

Module Four: Citing Your Sources
Covers the basics of plagiarism, citation, and copyright.

Module Five: Putting it all together
How to organize your research into a formal paper, includes note taking, revising, and formatting.

24/7 Librarian