Covid-19 and the Library Update The library has shortened its hours for the time being: Mon-Fri 8:00-6:00 and Weekends 1:00-5:00. However, library staff will be working remotely, answering chats and emails, most of the other hours that the library is normally open. Nearly all of our resources are available online. As always, the back-up 24/7 chat librarians are available during hours we are not available.
Local students; We are not limiting the number of students in the library but are practicing social distancing. We are requiring that all books be returned to the book drops and not the desk. We have also suspended checking out jigsaw puzzles and games. All events and workshops have been canceled.
All library patrons must now wear masks while in the library. Protective plastic shields have been installed at the circulation and reference desk.
Welcome to the Bellevue University guide for Abnormal Psychology. Abnormal Psychology is defined as; the branch of psychology that deals with modes of behavior, mental phenomena, etc.; that deviate markedly from the standards believed to characterize a well-adjusted personality.(dictionary.com). Resources include print and electronic books, subscription databases, videos, and websites. Each print book title links directly to the library online catalog, while each e-book title links directly to the full text of the book. Database recommendations link directly to the specific database, videos are embedded where possible, and relevant websites cover various aspects of the topic.The variety of resources will give you a sampling of information on such topics as depression, neuroses, paranoia, psychoses, and pathological psychology.
If you need further assistance, please contact the Bellevue University Library Reference Staff
BELLEVUE UNIVERSITY INFORMATION LITERACY DEVELOPMENT
BUILD IT is an online guide to the Bellevue University Library and all its resources and services. It is made up of five self contained modules, each followed by an interactive quiz. Go through BUILD IT from beginning to end or start at the Site Map using just the pages you need. Click on the link above or on one of the modules below, or look for BUILD IT in the left menu of the library homepage under Tutorials.
Module One: Getting to Know the Bellevue University Library
An overview of library resources and services and introduction to the library homepage.
Module Two: Planning Your Project
The steps involved in planning your research paper: Includes focusing your topic, outlining, identifying keywords, Boolean searching, and more.
Module Three: Locating Information
Finding and evaluating information, including books, eBooks, articles, and websites. Includes sample and interactive database searches.
Module Four: Citing Your Sources
Covers the basics of plagiarism, citation, and copyright.
Module Five: Putting it all together
How to organize your research into a formal paper, includes note taking, revising, and formatting.
You will be prompted for your BU login when you attempt to access the library databases and e-books from off campus.Your username is your 8 digit student ID# preceded by Bellevue\ . Be sure to use a backslash and not a forward slash, after Bellevue, with no spaces before or after it. Your password is the same one you use for Blackboard and BRUIN. It must meet the requirements of 8-32 characters using a combination of upper and lower case letters, numerals, and special characters. You will be required to change your password every 90 days.