Skip to main content

Copyright Center: Blast into the New VAST (FY 13-14)

Quick Links

Blast into the New VAST

Blast into the New VAST

   You may have been familiar with the Library’s video database, VAST; however, it was recently revamped and special collections were added giving the Bellevue University community access to even more films!  Since a newer version has been released, the persistent URL’s have changed; therefore, if you list any links to this database in your courses you will need to change them to the new link!  More information about properly linking the films will be listed later, but first, allow me to highlight this database a bit further.   VAST: Academic Video Online, from Alexander Street Press, provides access to thousands of videos and growing 400 titles per month!  One new and very popular collection that was added is the The PBS Video Collection.  Some of the PBS series include: American Experience, Freedom, Frontline, History Detectives, NOVA, and Odyssey, as well as films by Ken Burns, Michael Wood, and many more.

   When searching VAST, you can search for videos in multiple ways.  The most basic method is to enter terms into the search box and select a specific discipline.  Another way to search is by collection.  By clicking on “View your collections” on the very top left-hand side of the page, you can select one of the 38 various collections such as:  American History in Video, Business Education in Video, Meet the Press, The March of Time, The PBS Video Collection, and The Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy collections, to name a few.  Other ways to browse for films include people, publishers, content types and fields of interest. 

   Once you have located a film, VAST offers many useful features.  First of all, the full transcript is available while viewing the film.  Within the transcript, there is a search box that can be accessed to search specific words within the film.  Another useful tool is the clip tool that allows you to clip specific segments of the film that may be most valuable to your class, rather than posting the entire film.  (Please note that with this feature you do need to create an account so that your clipped segments can be saved.)  Of course there are some of the more typical features within this database such as emailing, linking/embedding, and sharing the videos.  One other feature that could be very useful is the “Send to mobile device” feature.  This can be done in three ways: 1) enter the phone number in which the film will be sent via email or SMS, 2) enter a short link directly into your phone’s browser, and 3) scan the QR code!     

   To locate VAST, click on “Database Services” from the Library’s website which is in alphabetical order.  If you are interested in posting the film to BlackBoard or outside of BlackBoard, you will need to follow the instructions located on the “Linking to Articles, eBooks, and Streaming Videos from the Library’s Databases” Libguide (http://libguides.bellevue.edu/linking/vast).  This LibGuide is also helpful when determining which links to use with other popular library databases.  If you have any questions or need assistance, please feel free to contact the Copyright Center, copyright@bellevue.edu.  As always, thank you for your support!