LibGuides: MIOP: Streaming Videos

Library Streaming Videos for MIOP 531

Avoiding Bad Hires: Systems & Tools for Effective Hiring
Alexander Street Video (1 hr 16 min)
In this audio presentation from Human Capital Magazine, Dr. Matthew O’Connell offers you those tools so that you can avoid the cost of bad hires.
Equal Employment Opportunity
Alexander Street Video (3 min)
Equal employment opportunity is about giving everybody a 'fair go.' Workers in any workplace should be treated fairly and equally and have the opportunities to develop to their full potential. This equal employment training video features: - The definition of equal employment opportunity - Worker rights and responsibilities - Additional responsibilities for officers and supervisors
Frank Flynn - Judging Talent
Kanopy (54 min)
Our ability to accurately judge talent is hampered by unconscious and subjective distractions. Hiring decisions are affected by common biases, such as favoring tall or attractive candidates, or by superficial first impressions of likability. In fact, according to Professor Flynn, standard hiring interviews are only slightly more reliable than handwriting analysis in predicting on-the-job performance! Far superior are work sample tests and intelligence tests,
Hiring
Alexander Street Video (9 min)
This presentation, produced by Inc., features the best hiring practices.
Recruitment and Selection
Films on Demand (48:25 min)
Discussing workforce planning, this program presents the steps of filling a position at work, from writing a job description to interviewing to actual selection.

Internet Videos for MIOP 531

These videos are freely available online.

LibGuide Curator

Sarah Alston

She/Her(s)

Email Me

Need help? Ask a Librarian!

Library Video Databases

The following library databases can be accessed from the Databases page.

Films on Demand - Provides streaming films from sources such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences and Cambridge Educational.
Kanopy - Provides streaming videos on a variety of subjects; includes titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
Alexander Street Videos - Multidisciplinary collection contains thousands of videos.

Quick Links

Bellevue University Library
BUILD IT
An online guide to the Bellevue University Library and all its resources and services
Copyright Center
Cyberactive Online Classroom
Interlibrary Loan
Library Databases
Library Hours/Contacts

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
An online research management platform including a bibliography composer and note-taking features.
What is it?
NoodleTools is a resource that allows students to evaluate resources, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. it generates accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian references with options to annotate and archive lists of documents. It offers a visual 'tabletop' to manipulate, tag and pile notecards, then connect them in outlines to prepare for writing.
Why use it?
Use this resource if you are looking for an all-in-one resource to assist with note-taking, citations, and pre-writing projects.

Research Assistance Program
A member of the reference team will work with you one-on-one throughout your academic career to answer your questions about the research process.
Writing Center
Zoom for Reference
Need help? Sign up for a 60-minute Zoom session with the Library Reference Team. Sessions are offered Monday through Friday 9-6 PM.