Skip to main content

Recurring Reference Questions: Home

Each tab contains resources for the question.

Quick Links

Library News

The library will be closed November 22 and 23 for Thanksgiving. However, all online resources and the 24/7 chat will be available.

The library has set up a Holiday Donation Center on a table near the Reference/Circulation Desk. Drop off your donations rom Thursday, November 1 – Monday, December 17th. Items  needed include warm hats and blankets, aluminum pop-tops. dog toys, toiletries, and other items. These donations will be given to various charitable organizations to distribute.

t's official! The new BUILD IT has been launched and is available on the library website! You can access it under Find>Library Tutorials. The classic version is still available too but will be phased out eventually. Check out the new one and see what you think. 

Online library instruction from the comfort of your own home. Learn how to navigate the library website and utilize its resources and tools. Click here for dates and times and to register for November and December sessions.

OWL -Online Writing Lab Purdue University

Purdue OWL offers over 200 free resources related to writing.

General Writing 
Covers the writing process for general,academic, and assignment writing, and includes writing mechanics, punctuation, and grammar.

Research and Citation
The basics of conducting research. The most popular features of the Purdue OWL are the style guides for APA, MLA, and Chicago.

Teacher and Tutor Resources
Though geared toward the teaching of writing, there are many useful handouts for students, including those addressing plagiarism.

Subject Specific Writing
This area provides resources on technical writing, writing in literature, social sciences, and engineering, as well as medical writing, journalistic writing, and creative writing.

Other sections include Job Search Writing and ESL Resources.  Consult the Site Map for a complete look at OWL

Browser Compatibility

For best results, please use Google Chrome.

Welcome

Welcome to the Bellevue University guide for xxx.  This guide provides a good starting point for general research on this topic.  Resources include print and electronic books, subscription databases, and websites.  Each print book title links directly to the library online catalog, while each e-book title links directly to the full text of the book.  Database recommendations link directly to the specific database.  Recommended websites cover various aspects of the topic.

You will be prompted for your Bellevue University login when accessing the library resources from off campus.

If you need further assistance, please view this Libguides video or contact the  Bellevue University Library Reference Staff

Libguides Video

BUILD IT

BUILD IT

BELLEVUE UNIVERSITY INFORMATION LITERACY DEVELOPMENT

INTERACTIVE TUTORIAL

http://lib.bellevue.edu/buildit/

BUILD IT is an online guide to the Bellevue University LIbrary and all its resources and services. It  is made up of five self contained modules, each followed by an interacctive quiz. Go through BUILD IT from beginning to end or start at the Site Map using just the pages you need. Click on the link above or on one of the modules below, or look for BUILD IT in the left menu of the library homepage under Tutorials.

Module One: Getting to Know the Bellevue University Library
An overview of library resources and services and introduction to the library homepage.

Module Two: Planning Your Project
The steps involved in planning your research paper: Includes focusing your topic, outlining, identifying keywords, Boolean searching, and more.

Module Three: Locating Information
Finding and evaluating information, including books, ebooks, articles, and websites. Includes sample and interactive database searches.

Module Four: Citing Your Sources
Covers the basics of plagiarism, citation, and copyright.

Module Five: Putting it all together
How to organize your research into a formal paper, includes notetaking, revising, and formatting.

24/7 Librarian