Skip to main content

Military Families: Home

Please click on the links below for resources.

Quick Links

Library News

Don't miss the Walking Dead Lunch and Learn on Tuesday, January 16 at 12:30 in Library Classroom 480. Dr. Karen Robinson will lead the discussion.  You can sign up here.

Join us for Origami and Afternoon Tea on Wednesday, January 31, between 2:00 pm and 4:00 pm.in the Library.  Enjoy a cup of tea during Tea Month while testing your origami skills.

Winter Issue of the Library Newsletter is now available! Highlights of the latest issue of the More than Books include a feature article on the Pathways Program and a “Who’s Who?” section spotlighting new staff members.

Reserve a study room. Study rooms used to be available on a first come, first served basis but due to demand, we now require a reservation. Book a Study Room ahead of time by clicking selecting that option under Services on the Library homepage. Or stop by the desk and we will do it for you. Be sure to bring your student ID with you.

Welcome

Welcome to the Bellevue University guide for Military Families.  This guide provides a good starting point for general research on this topic.  Resources include print and electronic books, subscription databases, and websites.  Each print book title links directly to the library online catalog, while each e-book title links directly to the full text of the book.  Database recommendations link directly to the specific database.  Recommended websites cover various aspects of the topic.

For best results, use Google Chrome. If you need further assistance, please contact the  Library Reference Staff.

Off-Campus Access

You will be prompted for your BU login when you attempt to access the library databases and e-books from off campus.Your username is your 8 digit student ID# preceded by Bellevue\ . Be sure to use a backslash and not a forward slash, after Bellevue, with no spaces before or after it. Your password is the same one you use for Blackboard and BRUIN. It must meet the requirements of 8-32 characters using a combination of upper and lower case letters, numerals, and special characters. You will be required to change your password every 90 days. 

BUILD IT

BUILD IT

BELLEVUE UNIVERSITY INFORMATION LITERACY DEVELOPMENT

INTERACTIVE TUTORIAL

http://lib.bellevue.edu/buildit/

BUILD IT is an online guide to the Bellevue University Library and all its resources and services. It  is made up of five self contained modules, each followed by an interactive quiz. Go through BUILD IT from beginning to end or start at the Site Map using just the pages you need. Click on the link above or on one of the modules below, or look for BUILD IT in the left menu of the library homepage under Tutorials.

Module One: Getting to Know the Bellevue University Library
An overview of library resources and services and introduction to the library homepage.

Module Two: Planning Your Project
The steps involved in planning your research paper: Includes focusing your topic, outlining, identifying keywords, Boolean searching, and more.

Module Three: Locating Information
Finding and evaluating information, including books, ebooks, articles, and websites. Includes sample and interactive database searches.

Module Four: Citing Your Sources
Covers the basics of plagiarism, citation, and copyright.

Module Five: Putting it all together
How to organize your research into a formal paper, includes notetaking, revising, and formatting.

24/7 Librarian