Skip to main content

BUILD IT Express: Locating Articles

A short version of the BUILD IT tutorial, with just the essential information.

LOCATING ARTICLES

Bellevue University Library subscribes to over 46,000 current periodicals.  Though we have print periodicals, the vast majority are electronic.

This page will walk you through the steps to finding journal articles for all your assignments.

THE JOURNAL DATABASES

Most of our journal subscriptions are accessed through the library databases, though there are some journals that we subscribe to individually. Those are discussed in the JOURNAL HOLDINGS box on this page.

  • ProQuest and EBSCOhost are the largest of the journal databases.  Journal articles are also found in JSTOR Business Collection, ,MasterFile Complete, and other databases. To access them, go to the A-Z Database List..
  • ProQuest,contains many subject specific databases.  You can search them all simultaneously by clicking on ProQuest or choose the one you need. One important thing you should know is that the business focused ProQuest, ABI/INFORM Complete, is not listed under the other ProQuest databases.
  • EBSCOHOST also contains other smaller collections, but the largest are Academic Source Complete, a multidisciplinary database, and Business Source Complete.They can be searched simultaneously by selecting EBSCOhost from the list of databases.

FINDING AN ARTICLE IN ACADEMIC SEARCH PREMIER

Now it is time to put this into practice by doing a search for articles on global warming AND climate change. Academic Search Complete (from EBSCOhost) is a good place to start.  Using the advanced search screen, set up you search like this:

Be sure to mark the Full Text and Scholarly(Peer Reviewed) Journals options. You will now get a list of complete articles about global warming from academic journals.

SCHOLARLY AND PEER REVIEWED JOURNALS

Scholarly journals publish articles from experts in the field and are directed toward an academic audience. Scholarly journals are published by academic organizations and their main purpose is to report research in the field. Peer reviewed (refereed) journals publish articles that have undergone review by a panel of scholars in the field before being accepted for publication.

All peer reviewed journals are scholarly,
but not all scholarly journals are peer reviewed

The journal databases all have a Scholarly Journals option. Mark this option before you search. In EBSCOhost, you will notice that this limiter is called Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals. This is a bit confusing as it actually means scholarly journals, including peer reviewed, so your results list will include articles from peer reviewed journals and also articles from scholarly journals that are not peer reviewed. However, once you choose an article, click on the title of the article to see the indexing,then click on the title of the journal for a description. This will tell you what kind of publication it is.

Another way to determine whether the scholarly article that you chose is peer reviewed is to check it in Ulrichsweb. This periodical directory is listed on our A-Z Database List. Enter the name of the journal and read the description, or mouse over the icon next to the title, to determine if it is scholarly (academic) or peer reviewed (refereed). 

A-Z JOURNAL LIST

A-Z Journal List is  an index of all the periodicals the library has access to, all types, all formats.  It is a very handy tool if you are trying to find a specific journal or if you have a citation for an article, but don't know what database it might be in. Just type in the title of the journal, not the article, and it will tell you if we have it, the dates of availability, and location. If it is in an online database, you can then hyperlink right to it.

WHAT ABOUT DISCOVERY SEARCH?

There is one other way to find articles and it is a great way to do it because it will search nearly all the database simultaneously.

There are a few tricks you need to know though to get good results.  Find out what they are on the next page, DISCOVERY SEARCH.