Skip to main content

MBA 639 (2013-14): Tips and Tutorials

This LibGuide contains electronic resources to support all the courses within MBA 639, including eBooks, journal articles, streaming videos, and websites. Choose the appropriate tab for your course to access the resources.

Quick Links

OWL -Online Writing Lab Purdue University

Purdue OWL offers over 200 free resources related to writing.

General Writing 
Covers the writing process for general,academic, and assignment writing, and includes writing mechanics, punctuation, and grammar.

Research and Citation
The basics of conducting research. The most popular features of the Purdue OWL are the style guides for APA, MLA, and Chicago.

Teacher and Tutor Resources
Though geared toward the teaching of writing, there are many useful handouts for students, including those addressing plagiarism.

Subject Specific Writing
This area provides resources on technical writing, writing in literature, social sciences, and engineering, as well as medical writing, journalistic writing, and creative writing.

Other sections include Job Search Writing and ESL Resources.  Consult the Site Map for a complete look at OWL

Searching Tips

Discovery Search 

Another option for finding library resources is Discovery Search, which searches multiple databases simultaneously. In fact, you can use it to search for articles, books, and more, without having to repeat your search over and over. This can be a real timesaver. Not every database is compatible with this type of search, but most of them are. Discovery Search replaces Simple Search and is a more powerful tool. You will find it on the library homepage right under the photo of the library.

How to Find Scholarly Articles and Peer Reviewed Articles

The journal databases all have a Scholarly Journals option so be sure to mark this limiter as well as Full Text option  before you start your search. All peer reviewed journals are scholarly, but not all scholarly journals are peer reviewed. Scholarly journals publish articles from experts in teh field and are directed toward an academic audience, but peer reviewed (refereed) journals have the extra step of a review by a panel of scholars in the field before being accepted for publication.

Another way to find out if a journal is peer reviewed, is to go to Ulrichs, one of our library databases. Type in the title and read the description to see if it is peer reviewed or scholarly. You can also go to the website of the journal for this information.

EBSCOhost

You may choose all of the databases within EBSCOhost at once or just choose those that most fit your needs. A good place to start is Academic Search Premier, an EBSCOhost database which covers a broad range of disciplines. The basic search screen is the default screen you will see, but you can also select the advanced option which is located below the search box. From the limiters in the Refine Search box you can select Full Text and Scholarly Journals.

24/7 Librarian