Skip to main content

Writing Across the Curriculum: Home

This guide provides resources for Writing Across the Curriculum and resources and examples for Writing in the Disciplines (WID).

Quick Links

Library News

It's official! The new BUILD IT has been launched and is available on the library website! You can access it under Find>Library Tutorials. The classic version is still available too but will be phased out eventually. Check out the new one and see what you think. 

The Fall edition of the library newsletter, More Than Books is now available. The feature story is about changes going on in the library.

Join us for our next Lunch and Learn Creating and Controlling Dinosaurs – The Science of Jurassic Park. Professor Tyler Moore will lead a discussion about whether the science portrayed in the books and movies is really plausible, Room 480, Thursday, October 11, 2018, at 12:30.  Register here. 

Online library instruction from the comfort of your own home. Learn how to navigate the library website and utilize its resources and tools. Click here for dates and times and to register for September and October.sessions.

What is Writing Across the Curriculum?

Writing Across the Curriculum (WAC) programs have been developed by many universities to promote the idea that student writing should not be confined to English courses, but rather integrated across all curriculum areas, continuously over all four years.  The desired outcome is that through this writing practice, students will learn to communicate effectively by the time they graduate.  WAC also includes the related area of Writing in the Disciplines (WID) which refers to the specific language and formats used within a specific discipline. This LibGuide contains resources for both faculty and students, and includes books, ebooks, databases, and websites.

If you need further assistance, please contact the  Bellevue University Library Reference Staff 

BUILD IT

BUILD IT

BELLEVUE UNIVERSITY INFORMATION LITERACY DEVELOPMENT

INTERACTIVE TUTORIAL

http://library.bellevue.edu/find/tutorials/build-it/

BUILD IT is an online guide to the Bellevue University Library and all its resources and services. It  is made up of five self contained modules, each followed by an interactive quiz. Go through BUILD IT from beginning to end or start at the Site Map using just the pages you need. Click on the link above or on one of the modules below, or look for BUILD IT in the left menu of the library homepage under Tutorials.

Module One: Getting to Know the Bellevue University Library
An overview of library resources and services and introduction to the library homepage.

Module Two: Planning Your Project
The steps involved in planning your research paper: Includes focusing your topic, outlining, identifying keywords, Boolean searching, and more.

Module Three: Locating Information
Finding and evaluating information, including books, eBooks, articles, and websites. Includes sample and interactive database searches.

Module Four: Citing Your Sources
Covers the basics of plagiarism, citation, and copyright.

Module Five: Putting it all together
How to organize your research into a formal paper, includes note taking, revising, and formatting.

24/7 Librarian

Margie McCandless's picture
Margie McCandless
Contact:
Bellevue University Freeman/Lozier Library

402-557-7313

Off-Campus Access

You will be prompted for your BU login when you attempt to access the library databases and e-books from off campus.Your username is your 8 digit student ID# preceded by Bellevue\ . Be sure to use a backslash and not a forward slash, after Bellevue, with no spaces before or after it. Your password is the same one you use for Blackboard and BRUIN. It must meet the requirements of 8-32 characters using a combination of upper and lower case letters, numerals, and special characters. You will be required to change your password every 90 days.