Skip to main content

Copyright Center: Linking to the Library's Resources (FY 12-13)

Quick Links

Linking to the Library's Resources

Linking to the Library's Resources

As you are developing your courses in Blackboard and trying to incorporate resources from the Library’s databases, you may not be aware of the best way to do this. Unfortunately, you cannot just create a PDF of the article and post it into Blackboard or copy and paste the article into a Word document to post into the course – those methods would violate copyright.  In fact, if you refer to one of our past copyright features titled “Copyright Tips:  A Useful Quick Reference Guide,” it will assist you with the “Do’s” and “Do Not’s” of posting material into your courses:  http://libguides.bellevue.edu/content.php?pid=92568&sid=2070034.  

However, what you can do is review the Library’s LibGuide, “Linking to Articles, eBooks, and Streaming Videos from the Library’s Databases” (http://libguides.bellevue.edu/linking), which will definitely help you link to the Library’s database resources without any hesitation.  This LibGuide provides information and instructions on how to directly link to databases, rather than violating copyright by copying and pasting.  The following databases have specific instructions on direct linking:  ProQuest, EBSCOhost, LexisNexis, Films on Demand, NBC Learn Higher Ed, Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Factiva, Facts on File, Image Quest, Opposing Viewpoints, Vast Streaming Video, and Gale Virtual Reference Library.  Although other databases can be linked, not all have this capability.  Therefore, if you have any questions about a database not listed on this LibGuide, please contact Michael Bobak, Systems Librarian, at 402-557-7317 or michael.bobak@bellevue.edu

By knowing how to provide the durable link (also known as a persistent link), you will be able to add a wealth of resources to courses on Blackboard, share articles, videos, or eBooks with colleagues and students, and be able to access them quickly from your own computer, without infringing copyright!