Skip to main content

Copyright Center: Images, Photos, and Graphics! Oh My! (FY 16-17)

Quick Links

Contact Information

Address:  1000 Galvin Road South

Bellevue, NE  68005

Phone:  402-557-7305

Email:  copyright@bellevue.edu

Images, Photos, and Graphics! Oh My!

Images, Photos, and Graphics! Oh My!

     Have you ever been in the middle of creating a Power Point presentation and you realize that you need an eye-catching image to capture your audience’s attention? Have you asked yourself, “Where can I find some free images to add to my project and avoid any copyright concerns?”

     If your answer is the Bellevue University Library’s Copyright Center, you have already discovered the right place! In fact, the Copyright Center contains an “Images” page that lists the Library’s image database, Britannica Image Quest, plus various other image websites, that allow you to use photos for free! 

     Let me start with Britannica Image Quest. Currently, this is the Library’s only image database. Image Quest provides access to over two million images from collections such as the National Portrait Gallery, Getty Images, National Geographic Image Collection, and DK Images, to name a few.  All you have to do is search for the image, download it, and give the image attribution using the credit line already provided. It is as easy as that!

     If using Image Quest did not quite give you the images you were looking for, where can you go next? Hopefully we all know that we cannot just perform a Google search and use any image that we find, right?! Well, as long as you perform that search by filtering the usage rights to your type of use, there may be plenty of images you can use. However, this is only one image website, but there are plenty more!

     One of my favorites right now is called Pixabay. All images on this site are released under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license which means the images can be altered, downloaded, distributed, and used however you wish. Plus, attribution is not required. Many of the photos have the stock photography quality and look, but without that lovely watermark.

     Another wonderful website with CC0 images is Unsplash. Anyone can submit a photo or collection on this site and share with others. You can search the newest photos or search through various collections to find the perfect photo.

     Perhaps you are looking for more of a graphic or icon rather than a photo. Try the website, Noun Project, which will allow you search all kinds of icons, many which are added daily.  

     There are many other websites listed on the Images page of the Library’s Copyright Center. Hopefully this will give you a start as you are searching for images or photos. Please let us know (copyright@bellevue.edu) if you discover any new sites that might be helpful to others. As always, thank you for supporting the Bellevue University Library Copyright Center!