Travel Around the World
Date: Thursday, April 18, 2024
Time: 12:30pm - 1:30pm CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Campus: Bellevue University Freeman Lozier Library, LIB 480
Online: Register HERE
Registration is required.
***
Join the library for a presentation by Linda Thomas about her adventures travelling around the world! This event will also be available over Zoom.
Paint Along Craft
Date: Tuesday, April 23, 2024
Time: 2:00pm - 3:00pm CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Campus: Bellevue University Freeman Lozier Library, Main Area
Details: Information HERE
***
Stop in the Library and create a beautiful painting during our follow-along art event! Supplies will be provided.
Online Library Instruction
Date: Thursday, April 25, 2024
Time: 6:00pm - 7:00pm CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Online: Register HERE
This is an online meeting. Registration is required.
***
Want to know more about how to navigate the library website and utilize its resources and tools? This instructor-led online library instruction tutorial will walk you through the main functions of the library, and show you how and where to search. This is a great tool for online students who want a more in depth understanding of the library without having to visit the library.
Online Library Instruction
Date: Tuesday, May 7, 2024
Time: 10:00am - 11:00am CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Online: Register HERE
This is an online meeting. Registration is required.
***
Want to know more about how to navigate the library website and utilize its resources and tools? This instructor-led online library instruction tutorial will walk you through the main functions of the library, and show you how and where to search. This is a great tool for online students who want a more in depth understanding of the library without having to visit the library.
Mothers of the Plaza de Mayo
Date: Thursday, May 9, 2024
Time: 12:30pm - 1:30pm CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Campus: Bellevue University Freeman Lozier Library, LIB 480
Online: Register HERE
Registration is required.
***
Join the library for a presentation by Jessica Omer about about The Mothers of the Plaza de Mayo, an Argentinian Human Rights Association. This event will also be streamed over Zoom.
Make Your Own Lip Balm
Date: Tuesday, May 14, 2024
Time: 2:00pm - 3:00pm CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Campus: Bellevue University Freeman Lozier Library, Main Area
Details: Information HERE
***
Stop in the Library and mix up your own lip balm! Supplies will be provided.
Library on the Go
Date: Thursday, May 16, 2024
Time: 11:00am - 12:30pm CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Campus: Bellevue University Educational Services Building (ESB), Upper Level Lobby
Details: Information HERE
***
Stop by our table to browse books, enjoy snacks, hear about Library programming, and be entered into a book raffle! We will be bringing books for Fantasy, LGBTQ+, Disney, and New Arrivals.
Virtual Reference Help Drop-In
(Ongoing)
Date: Mondays & Wednesdays (coming up - April 22 & 24)
Time: 9am - 11am CST (Central Standard Time, US & Canada)
Campus: Remote Session (Zoom meeting)
Online: Access HERE
This is an online meeting. Registration is required.
****
Do you have reference questions or need help using library resources? Drop into this Zoom room to chat with one of our librarians! They can walk through the problem with you and even share your screen (if you get stuck).
Purdue OWL offers over 200 free resources related to writing.
General Writing
Covers the writing process for general,academic, and assignment writing, and includes writing mechanics, punctuation, and grammar.
Research and Citation
The basics of conducting research. The most popular features of the Purdue OWL are the style guides for APA, MLA, and Chicago.
Teacher and Tutor Resources
Though geared toward the teaching of writing, there are many useful handouts for students, including those addressing plagiarism.
Subject Specific Writing
This area provides resources on technical writing, writing in literature, social sciences, and engineering, as well as medical writing, journalistic writing, and creative writing.
Other sections include Job Search Writing and ESL Resources. Consult the Site Map for a complete look at OWL
Some topics, assignments, and issues recur frequently . In order to assist students, the library staff has gathered together some of these into this LibGuide. It provides instructions for finding the informaiton you need. For topics, a few related articles are included to get you started.
You will be prompted for your Bellevue University login when accessing the library resources from off campus.
If you need further assistance, please contact the Bellevue University Library Reference Staff
BELLEVUE UNIVERSITY INFORMATION LITERACY DEVELOPMENT
INTERACTIVE TUTORIAL
http://lib.bellevue.edu/buildit/
BUILD IT is an online guide to the Bellevue University LIbrary and all its resources and services. It is made up of five self contained modules, each followed by an interacctive quiz. Go through BUILD IT from beginning to end or start at the Site Map using just the pages you need. Click on the link above or on one of the modules below, or look for BUILD IT in the left menu of the library homepage under Tutorials.
Module One: Getting to Know the Bellevue University Library
An overview of library resources and services and introduction to the library homepage.
Module Two: Planning Your Project
The steps involved in planning your research paper: Includes focusing your topic, outlining, identifying keywords, Boolean searching, and more.
Module Three: Locating Information
Finding and evaluating information, including books, ebooks, articles, and websites. Includes sample and interactive database searches.
Module Four: Citing Your Sources
Covers the basics of plagiarism, citation, and copyright.
Module Five: Putting it all together
How to organize your research into a formal paper, includes notetaking, revising, and formatting.
