Skip to main content

Gun Control: Home

Click the tabs below for resources on this subject.

Quick Links

Library News

Paint & Sip. Have fun painting while sipping (non-alcoholic) sparkling cider with others from Bellevue University. Drop by the library any time from 2:00 - 4:00 pm on Thursday, April 26,

Food for Fines will be going on the entire month of April. If you have overdue items or outstanding  fines on returned items, just bring in a non-perishable food  for each overdue library item.  Your fines will be cleared and food will go to the Bellevue Food Pantry. A win-win situation for everyone!

Statista Workshop. Learn how to use Statista to find statistics of all kinds for your research papers. Offered online on Tuesday, May 1, from 7:00-8:00 pm, via Blackboard Collaborate. Register here.

A BETA version of the revamped BUILD IT (Bellevue University Information Literacy Development Interactive Tutorial) is now available for you to preview. Check it out here and read all about the process and the changes you will find to BUILD IT in the feature article of our library newsletter (see below).

Episode 28 of the library "More Than Books" podcast, The Spotify Parableis now available on iTunes. Joel and Colin discuss the concept of digital ownership and whether or not we delude ourselves by thinking that such a thing exists.

Welcome

Welcome to the Bellevue University guide on Gun Control.  This is a good starting point for general research in this area. The areas covered by the sampling of resources include gun control, violent crimes and deaths, the National Rifle Association and arms transfers, as well as firearms ownership, law and legislation. Resources include reference selections from the BU library, database resources, and Internet links. Each book title links directly to the library Catalog.  Database recommendations link directly to specific databases and Internet links cover various aspects of this topic.

If you need further assistance, please contact the  Bellevue University Library Reference Staff 

 

BUILD IT

BUILD IT

BELLEVUE UNIVERSITY INFORMATION LITERACY DEVELOPMENT

INTERACTIVE TUTORIAL

http://lib.bellevue.edu/buildit/

BUILD IT is an online guide to the Bellevue University Library and all its resources and services. It  is made up of five self contained modules, each followed by an interactive quiz. Go through BUILD IT from beginning to end or start at the Site Map using just the pages you need. Click on the link above or on one of the modules below, or look for BUILD IT in the left menu of the library homepage under Tutorials.

Module One: Getting to Know the Bellevue University Library
An overview of library resources and services and introduction to the library homepage.

Module Two: Planning Your Project
The steps involved in planning your research paper: Includes focusing your topic, outlining, identifying keywords, Boolean searching, and more.

Module Three: Locating Information
Finding and evaluating information, including books, ebooks, articles, and websites. Includes sample and interactive database searches.

Module Four: Citing Your Sources
Covers the basics of plagiarism, citation, and copyright.

Module Five: Putting it all together
How to organize your research into a formal paper, includes notetaking, revising, and formatting.

24/7 Librarian

Off-Campus Access

You will be prompted for your BU login when you attempt to access the library databases and e-books from off campus.Your username is your 8 digit student ID# preceded by Bellevue\ . Be sure to use a backslash and not a forward slash, after Bellevue, with no spaces before or after it. Your password is the same one you use for Blackboard and BRUIN. It must meet the requirements of 8-32 characters using a combination of upper and lower case letters, numerals, and special characters. You will be required to change your password every 90 days.